Ocean City | Maryland

And alas starts the summer of mini vacay’s. First one down: Maryland. I just spent the holiday weekend in Ocean City with some of my fellow graduates, celebrating our recent achievements. With air mattresses and rompers in tow we all met up at the beach to eat, drink, and play.

4 days, 12 girls, and 1.5 bushel’s of crab (which averages to about 86 crabs) later, I can officially say that if I never see another crab again it might be too soon. *Note: this does not include softshell or tempura-fied. Yum. But I guess I’ll start from the beginning.

The first day I arrived in Maryland, the Zip’s were just returning from their vacation in the Bahamas.  In typical fashion we decided to cook, and we cooked A LOT. First on the agenda: homemade pasta. With help from Tom, Meesh’s soon-to-be-chef brother, we mixed, flattened and cut our own dough to create pappardelle pasta while slow cooking pork shoulder to use for a ragu sauce.

And because that obviously wouldn’t be enough to satisfy us, we went a little wild with the appetizers…

Heirloom Tomatoes with Caramelized Fennel

Fried Artichokes

Roasted Red Pepper Bruschetta

Later that night, the rest of the girls arrived and the next morning we left for Ocean City. When we got there we went to Shenanigans on the board walk for Fish & Chips, which lived up to their reputation for being amazing. Later that weekend we decided to get lunch at Belly Busters which was equally amazing. We had Peel and Eat Shrimp, Popcorn Shrimp, Soft Shell Crab and tons of Potato and Pasta Salad. It was my first time encountering Old Bay seasoning which I later found out is over-used at pretty much every restaurant in Ocean City.

On our second to last night we decided to have a crab feast at our condo. We ordered over 86 crabs, under the impression that 12 of us girls would have no problem finishing them all. Equipped with knives, mallets and some crab shell cracking knowledge we went at the Old-Bay-covered crabs for more than a couple of hours. By the end of the night we still had a couple dozen crabs left, but for our first crab fest, I think we did a pretty decent job.

By the end of my vacation, and crab binge, I was ready to go back to Boston and get some steak. Which is actually quite convenient since tonight is my step-brothers Birthday. Well it’s actually this Tuesday, but we’ll be celebrating tonight at Grill 23. Which just so happens to be the same place I celebrated my Birthday just a few months ago. Last time I opted for the Filet Mignon, but I really have no idea what I’m in the mood for tonight. Although one thing is for sure, definitely not crab.

This entry was posted in Dining Out, Maryland, Seafood, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ocean City | Maryland

  1. Pingback: NOMs in a New York Minute | Just Add Cheese!

  2. What a fun getaway – i love myself some crabs with Old Bay!

Leave a Reply

