Meaty Baked Ziti Caprese

The other day I left work harboring a serious craving for pasta. Originally I was thinking of going with something light, maybe a white wine and garlic sauce mixed with some zucchini. You know, a dinner that wouldn’t make me feel super guilty or have me sprinting to the gym (if I were the type of person to sprint to the gym that is). However,  15 minutes into our Whole Foods run, it was apparent my original plan became little more than a distant memory while Meesh and I began filling our shopping cart with meat, tomatoes and lots of CHEESE! The plan quickly changed and the next thing I knew we were inventing our own version of Meaty Baked Ziti Caprese. With a little inspiration from a recipe we found on Cooking With Friends, allow me to introduce one seriously indulgent baked ziti dish.

ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1lb Ground Beef
  • 3 Tomatoes
  • 4 Garlic Cloves
  • 2 cans Whole Peeled Tomatoes – (can used crushed or diced tomatoes here as well)
  • 1 can Tomato Sauce
  • 2 cups Mushrooms
  • 2 boxes Wheat Ziti
  • 2 medium Onions (minced)
  • 10 oz Fresh Mozzarella
  • 8 oz Shredded Mozzarella
  • Basil
  • Flat Leaf Parsley
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Chili Powder
  • 1 tbsp Sugar
  • *1 large pan or casserole dish