Dill Pickles | Tupperware…

Cucumbers are ripest between May and August so when summertime rolls around, everyone starts pickling. No really, EVERYONE starts pickling – on two different occasions in the past month Whole Foods has been completely out of fresh dill! When I needed dill for a different recipe, Whole Foods AND Stop and Shop were completely out. I had to buy one of those “soup kits” that had root vegetables and different spices just to get some dill. The only way to explain the shortage of dill would be the abundance of picklers in the summertime, right?

I’ve been seeing a lot of pickling recipes online in the past week too, like these bread and butter pickles, traditional dill pickles, and these garlic dill pickles that I saw back in March and absolutely cannot be excluded because of how pretty they look. Since pickles are my go-to snack (dill over bread and butter if you’re wondering), I had to try it myself.

I don’t have any pickling jars so I went to the hardware store on Mass Ave to grab some, they only had really small jars so I bought a new knife and whisker gave up , and decided to use Tupperware instead. Does anyone know the real benefits of using glass over plastic for pickling? Please let me know if there is a health hazard associated with this because I only have 24 hours left before my pickles are ready. Ah, lets be honest, I’m going to eat them (all of them probably) no matter what.

I decided to use the Annie’s Eat’s version of Dill Pickles because it seemed really easy and basic. Also, I had about 15 minutes to get the show on the road before I had to leave for a date at Drink (review in the works!).

Pickles!

Ingredients:

  • 3 Cups Water
  • 6 tbsp. White Vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp. Kosher Salt
  • Minced Garlic
  • Fresh Dill
  • Pickling cucumbers, cut into spears

Directions:

  • Combine all Brine ingredients in a bowl (water, vinegar, salt), stir well to dissolve salt.
  • Put several sprigs of fresh dill into the bottom of each jar (or tupperware :-/),  pack half full with cucumber spears, layer with more sprigs of fresh dill, and finish filling the jar with cucumbers. Sprinkle some minced garlic on top. Pour brine into the jar until full and pickles are completely submerged. Put on the lid and refrigerate for two years before eating.

The amazing thing about this, was that it only took about 10 minutes to make, total! If you ever have some free time – start pickling! Costing me about 5 bucks and taking no time at all, I might become addicted to picking, carrots next possibly?

**Update: pickles came out AWESOME – Tupperware FTW!

This entry was posted in Dining In, Quick / Easy, Recipes, Snacks, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dill Pickles | Tupperware…

  1. denise says:

    Boil the vinegar and water together then let it become room temperature this will ensure you will not have any mold. This mold is called mother believe it or not. Since you are not using glass jars that seal you have to make sure you put your tupperware container in the fridge.

  2. Lucy says:

    Hi Meesh!

    I’m Sam’s friend, she sent me the link! I actually just got done pickling last week! I went to Phish at mansfield and sold them! They were a hot item apparently. I went with the glass jar/sealed route. I think this is probably best if you are going to make a ton or keep a lot for snacking – I’m making more this weekend if you’d like to join! It only took about an hour, but I did have help chopping.

    Anyway, it was really easy and I did pickling cucumbers and green beans. The green beans were absolutely awesome. I didn’t get to try the cukes because I wanted to sell them!

    I knew how to can a little from watching my mom when I was little and followed the directions on the back of the jar case. I immediately boiled a big metal pot of water to sterilize the jars and tops and rings. Keep these in the hot water until ready to jar. Right before canning, put the glove of garlic and extra dill in the jars- fill with cukes and beans reallly shove them in because they will shrink when boiled.

    For 12 1/2 pint (8 oz) jars I used:

    2 pounds of Green beans stems cut
    2 pounds of Cukes cut into chips and halved (like half-moons)
    like 12 cloves of fresh garlic peeled.

    In a pot with teflon coating (not metal because it will make the solution cloudy) boil below ingredients – Leave simmering until ready to can:

    1/2 cup of Kosher Salt (I couldn’t find pickling salt! and Ina garten said I could use this)
    4 Cups White Organic Vinegar (365 brand – cheap and awesome)
    4 sprigs of fresh dill
    Lots of pepper Corns
    4 sprigs of Fresh Thyme
    3 Bay leaves
    Red Pepper Flakes to Taste (They don’t really make them that spicy)
    A Tiny bit of Garlic Powder

    Pour pickle juice over the beans and cukes – leave small amount of room so the seal can be made. Put the hot tops and rings on snug (make sure the pot of water is boiling) then put them back into the boiling pot to seal for five minutes). Let them stand for 2-3 days in a darkish/coolish place like a closet or pantry -for best results! Make sure the pop top is not popped if it is, then put into the fridge right away and that will be your first jar!
    I swear to god they are the best ever. I’m starting a business.
    Try it and let me know!

    • Meesh says:

      Thanks so much Lucy! These tips are really helpful, I didn’t realize how much went into pickling. I will definitely try this recipe next time. If you have pictures, send them over.. guest post? 🙂

      • Lucy says:

        Certainly! Let me know!

        I’ll probably be doing some next week. this weekend didn’t work out with it being beautiful and lovely in New England’s Granite State.

Leave a Reply

