Dim Sum | Myers + Chang | South End

Sometime in the past sixth months I started hearing about Myers + Chang. I first caught wind of it through food bloggers and friends on twitter. Their comments and my research told me that this was a place I needed to check out. Their “about” section on the M+C website says,

“We are inspired by Taiwanese soul food and Southeast Asian street food, all done with a great deal of care. It is a personal, sometimes loose interpretation, to be sure, but our criteria are simple: everything we make must be fresh, delicious, and addictive. We are passionate about sharing our love of this food with you.”

How amazing does that sound?!?! I love restaurants that are constantly switching up menu items, ingredients, specials and ones are innovative in general. Restaurants that have the same menu items forever (even if they are good items) get so old sometimes. *caugh* scoozi. The fact that Myers + Chang is on twitter gives them points too. They use Taiwanese and Korean cuisine as more of and inspiration than a set of guidelines, which I love. Plus I love sharing food and that’s what Myer’s + Chang is all about, DIM SUM!!!!

Sesame Cucumbers

So I’ve been to Myers + Chang twice, annnd I love it! I also love the location, Washington St. in the South End might just end up being my home one day. It’s so pretty and removed from all the touristy shit EVERYWHERE ELSE in Boston. It’s great to go down there on a late weekday night, quiet and a great place for foodies. Both times I have had great experiences with the service and food. I recommend it to anyone, but make sure to make a reservation. It gets packed.

Mama Chang’s Pork and Chive Dumplings

Noteworthy Dishes:

Best thing I ordered: Thai Pork Kabobs… YUM. Its like a sausage lettuce wrap that is spicy and delicious. I actually don’t have a picture of this amazing dish, because I was too quick to eat it both times I ordered it. Oops. On the Myers + Chang homepage, its the first picture that pops up.

Indonesian Fried Rice

Worst Thing I ordered: I hate to say it, but… fried rice! I’ve had two different kinds of the fried rice on their menu, the Indonesian Fried Rice and GenMai Fried Rice. I was disappointed by both. The egg on top looks SO NICE but the taste just doesn’t live up to everything else Myers + Chang has to offer. Please don’t let this deter you from going, just don’t order it. Everything else is great.

Crispy Spring Rolls

Honorable Mention: Chinese Sesame Cucumbers, Mama Chang’s Pork and Chive Dumplings, Tea Smoked Pork Spare Ribs, Crispy Spring Rolls

Best Drink: The Changarita <- MMMMmmmMMMMmmmm.

Go for: Apps and Drinks, A Date, Girls Night, Boys Night, Friends Night, Weekend, Weekday, Lunch, Dinner

Don’t Go: In Large Groups (it’s pretty small), Just to Grab Drinks (they don’t really have a bar area)

Tea Smoked Pork Spare Ribs

If you haven’t been, go. If you have been, go again.

Peace

– Meesh

Myers & Chang on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Chinese, Dining Out, South End and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dim Sum | Myers + Chang | South End

  1. skratch says:

    m33sh we’re gonna do big TIEM dim sum the next time you’re in new yawk

Leave a Reply

