Sláinte! from Ireland

As some of you may or may not know, I’m currently on vacation in Ireland with my ever expanding family, and today marks day two of our journey through the Emerald Isle. The majority of day 1 was spent driving through numerous small towns along the west coast, making our way from Shannon to Galway, where we are spending two nights before heading to Dublin. I guess I’ll note that this long drive started at 6 a.m. Ireland time, which was roughly 1 a.m. Boston time, which means I was paying roughly 10.2% attention to our somewhat comical yet slightly annoying tour guide Declan. After the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, and a few castles I was pretty much comatose until arriving in Galway, where we eventually took a break from sightseeing to eat and shop.

Cliffs of Moher | Burren

I’ll be honest, before coming to Ireland I had some preconceived notions about the food. I was picturing lots of potatoes, interesting meats, heavy stews, blood sausage (which I’m still debating whether I’m ready to try…) and other dishes I guess you could say I was a little less than excited about. Within two days I can truthfully admit all these preconceived notions were true, but I’m having a great time regardless. While still not a huge fan of Irish food, I have to admit it’s not completely horrible and I have found some delicious hidden gems, including Sherridans Cheesemongers.

Hidden behind St. Nicholas Church, I spotted it earlier while sightseeing and knew I had to go in just based on the name alone. So I did go on, and then I preceded to have the best cheese plate ever! No seriously, EVER. A few of us decided to split a cheeseboard with 5 samples accompanied with bread, Irish Rapeseed oil (a first for me), chutney and olives. I still can’t recall all the cheeses we tried, granted I couldn’t completely understand what our waitress was saying given her seriously thick accent, but I do know one thing: French Brie doesn’t stand a chance against Irish Brie. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that the blue cheese was much milder than those I have had in the past, and it had a creamier rather than crumbly texture which I was a fan of. When it came to wine, I decided to try a Tuscan Montepulciano, however I wasn’t overly impressed so I guess I’ll stick to Guinness for now. Overall, Cheesemonger was delightful and the shop underneath the wine bar is literally a cheese-lovers heaven. I highly recommend stopping by if you’re ever in Galway.

Irish Brie | Apples | Blue Cheese | Muenster | Olives | Chutney

Sherridans Cheesemonger… My Hero

In other Nom’ing news, we’ve also enjoyed some good meals at The Kings Head and the Quay’s. Although nothing stellar to report back on (aside from their ability to double as good pubs with great live music) I think the pictures are pretty delicious-looking and deserve a little rec. Enjoy.

Typical Irish Fare

When in Ireland.. eat like the American’s do?

Breakfast? Well since I don’t particularly like pudding in my breakfast sandwich I went for the Chocolate Croissant.

Decisions. Decisions.

This entry was posted in Dining Out, Ireland, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sláinte! from Ireland

  1. Meesh says:

    Those oysters look heavenly. Have fun girl!

  2. char says:

    love the pictures!!!

Leave a Reply

