Hot & Spicy Garlic Shrimp

Barcelona Garlic Shrimp

Call me crazy, but I prefer my shrimp peeled, deveined and headless. Peeling Shrimp can be such a pain and a mess, especially when the heads are attached, like in Barcelona (See #2 and pic to the left). While the endless Shrimp peeling in Barcelona was  the death of my manicure fun, I found myself seriously craving shrimp that didn’t require any effort, AT ALL.

While searching for garlic shrimp recipes, I came across Rachel Ray’s recipe for 4 Minute Spicy Garlic Shrimp. Like I’ve mentioned before, I don’t have the same affinity towards Rachel Ray as Soccer Moms on the go, but 4 minutes was looking pretty good at 8 pm after my 9 hour work day. Thennn… “spicy” sealed the deal. Ahh, here we go again, Rachel….

That’s more like it.

You start by heating up oil, garlic, crushed red pepper, salt, pepper, and steak seasoning:

Heatin’ up

Then you add the shrimp and cook for 3 minutes, until pink:

Almost there….

Then you toss it with the zest and juice of one lemon, and a handful of parsely, and voila!

Finished Product

When all is said and done, it probably takes about 10 minutes, but that is a lot less than my weeknight average of about 45 (sometimes I get a little carried away). Oh, and the recipe is impressive for only taking 10 minutes – super flavorful and just the right amount of spicy. Garlicky, lemony, peppery. MMMmmmMM!!! Do I even have to mention this meal is carb-less? So far I’m 2 for 2 with Rachel Ray recipes. She’s getting there, but it will take a couple more for me to truly trust her abilities.

Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed away from skin
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 24 jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined, tails in tact
  • 2 teaspoons grill or steak seasoning blend (recommended: Montreal Seasoning by McCormick) or coarse salt and pepper
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced
  • 2 tablespoons chopped parsley leaves, a handful

Directions

Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add extra-virgin olive oil, 2 turns of the pan, garlic, red pepper flakes and shrimp. Season with grill seasoning or salt and pepper and cook shrimp 3 minutes or until just pink. Toss with lemon zest, juice and chopped parsley. Remove shrimp to a serving platter leaving the garlic cloves in the pan.

Easy and good – works for me.

– Meesh

This entry was posted in Dining In, Quick / Easy, Recipes, Seafood, Sides, Spanish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hot & Spicy Garlic Shrimp

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Hot & Spicy Garlic Shrimp | Just Add Cheese! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

