Flour Bakery | Bread Pudding Fail

I’m going to keep this short, as what I am about to say is very upsetting and somewhat unsettling. The day finally came where I tried a bread pudding I DIDN’T like?!?! I know, I didn’t think it was possible. Bread pudding is the easiest thing to not screw up. I’ve thrown it together on multiple occasions and it never ceases  to amaze me how ridiculously easy it is to make such an unbelievably delicious dessert.  So with this, it pains me to say that my first experience at Flour Bakery proved to be somewhat of a disappointment.

Located in the South End, on Farnsworth Street, my friend and I ended up conveniently passing it while on a leisurely walk the other day. Having only heard rave reviews of the place, but never actually having eaten there myself I decided it was necessary that I go inside. Once I saw the displays, there was no turning back. At that moment I knew I had to get something. The cupcakes, the cookies, the croissants and brioche, and the icing, everywhere icing. Ahhhhh!! Did I mention I have a serious sweet tooth? I immediately saw they had bread pudding, and we all know how I feel about bread pudding. AND it just so happens that this wasn’t just bread pudding it was Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding. Sold! I had to try it.

I asked the girl behind the counter if she could heat it up, seeing as she mentioned it wasn’t very warm anymore. A few minutes later, I tried my first bite. Meh. I tried a few more. Ughh. Luke warm and dry, this was not the bread pudding I fell in love with. The rich chocolate taste was too much without a whipped cream or ice cream to balance it out. The half warm/half cold temperature wasn’t very satisfying either and the gooey chocolate sauce topping was overkill.

Maybe I should have tried ordering a cake or tart, but I still can’t get over the fact that the bread pudding was so poorly done. Needless to say, I was a little distraught about my first experience at Flour, but after just reading through some of their website I’ll admit my mouth is already watering.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be back to the bakery at some point for round two, determined to give it another shot.

Flour Bakery + Cafe on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Bakery, Boston, Dessert, Dining Out, South End and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flour Bakery | Bread Pudding Fail

  1. Lee says:

    I actually love the Flour bread pudding – it’s the dense, super silky, custardy, heavy and very sweet type. I think you might do better not to heat it up.

  2. Julian says:

    Agreed. Heating up the bread pudding is definitely NOT recommended.

Leave a Reply

