Restaurant Week Attempt #2 | EVOO

As you may (or may not) already know, the city of Boston is currently smack-dab in the middle of Restaurant Week. For those of you who don’t know, Restaurant Week or in Boston’s case Restaurant Week(s) is a two week period where some of the nicest restaurants around the city offer up three-course pre-fix menu’s to diners for $33. It’s a great opportunity to try out a restaurant you’ve never been to, or just get a huge meal for a pretty good deal. Note – the good deal only lasts as long as you don’t get boozy, tack on a few drinks and you can say “buh-bye” to that originally inexpensive check.

Personally I don’t LOVE restaurant week. Mostly because I hate crowds and as you can imagine cheap eats often induces crowding, but as a food lover, I can’t just sit back and ignore it. Naturally I decided to check out which restaurants were participating in the two-week event (ending August 27) and make some reservations. First up: EVOO in Kendall Square, Cambridge. Why?

  1. I’ve heard nothing but great things and it came highly recommended.
  2. I love Cambridge.
  3. Lots of options.

Unlike most restaurants, which only offer 2 – 3 choices per course, EVOO had multiple selections for appetizers and entree’s and offered up their FULL Dessert Menu for the third course. AMAZING! I also particularly love the name, but that’s because extra virgin olive oil and I have been having a serious love affair for about 3 years now ever since falling hard for each other during my semester abroad in Italy.

Due to my personal schedule (I had somewhere to be at 9pm), I made a reservation for 6:30. As I expected, the restaurant wasn’t too packed. Steady, but not packed. Yay! (did I mention I hate crowds?) We were promptly seated and I immediately started looking over the pre-fix menu. First thoughts:

 

  1. Everything’s organic and purchased locally, LOVE IT!
  2. So many choices!
  3. WOAH, what did I just read?

“Eva’s Organic Lettuce, Verrill Farm’s Cucumber’s, Grated Drumlin Farm’s Carrot, Kimball Farm’s First-of-the-Season Tomatoes and Eva’s Pea Greens with Creamy Buttermilk Dressing and Course Bread Crumb” Have you ever seen a house salad described in such a way? After deciphering the menu, and getting some suggestions from the server, we decided to start with…

Vermont Sheep Milk Ricotta – Lourdes’ Mozzarella Filled Batter Fried Verrill Farm’s Squash Blossom with Pesto Dressed Zucchini “Noodles”

Grilled ‘n Chilled Local Farmer’s Summer Vegetable Gazpacho with Striped Bass Belly – Charred Corn Salad

Both were delicious. The Squash Blossom app had the perfect mix of textures; it was a great balance of crunch and smoothness. I’d never had anything like it before, it was definitely different and unique. The gazpacho tasted amazing, even for someone who doesn’t normally like gazpacho. That someone being me. It was topped with striped bass and made for an excellent companion to our bread basket. Nom.

For dinner we had…

Back Room Smoked Cape Bluefish Fillet with Kimball Farm’s Corn Risotto, Grilled Verrill Farm’s Zucchini and Carlson Orchard’s Peach – Basil Relish

Turf in Surf Crisp Fried Spicy Chicken Sausage Stuffed Chesapeake Bay Soft Shell Crab with Adobo, Smooth ‘n Creamy Potato Salad and Summer Vegetable Slaw

Another set of unique dishes! My Blue Fin was excellent. The flavors in the Corn Risotto paired with the peach was divine and a great taste for summer. The Soft Shell Crab was equally as good. A self-procraimed lover of all things fried, the crab itself was nom-tastic and the stuffed chicken sausage aspect was something new and I liked it! I also thoroughly appreciated the presentation of the dish.

And for Dessert…

Chocolate – Banana Bread Pudding with Warm Buttermilk Caramel and the Kimball Farm’s Blueberry – Rhubarb Crisp with Toasted Oat – Almond Topping and Vermont Sour Cream Ice Cream

Obviously I had to try the bread pudding, which you’ll be hearing about in a later post. Then there was the Blueberry Crisp. I’ve heard about this Blueberry Crisp before from a friend who couldn’t stop raving about it. I remember her talking about how amazing it was and how I had to try it. So I did. And it WAS amazing. The Sour Cream Ice Cream was a first for me and although I’m not sure I’d ever order it solo, I can’t imagine it tasting as good with anything else. It’s like blueberry crisp and sour cream ice cream were made for each other and EVOO is the millionaire matchmaker who brought them together. Bravo!

Unlike my fellow food-enthusiest Meesh, we stuck to the pre-fix menu and ended up eating all this (and enjoying a few drafts) for a mere $88 (tip included). Not bad for a seriously delectable date night if I do say so myself. On an average night at EVOO appetizers will run you about $10 while entree’s range from $25-$30 – which is pretty reasonable still. The menu also changes frequently to ensure only the freshest ingredients from local suppliers, and I must say I can’t wait to see what Winter has in store for EVOO.

EVOO on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Cambridge, Dessert, Dining Out, Events, Farm To Table, Kendall Square, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Restaurant Week Attempt #2 | EVOO

  1. emilykendall says:

    this looks SO good…

  2. RIKI says:

    HAHAH complimentary cheesy poofs FTW!

Leave a Reply

