G.H. Bent Co. | Cookie Factory | Milton Series

It’s 1:30 in the afternoon, I’m starving, sitting at my house in Milton and staring at an empty fridge. What do I do? If I want to stay local, it’s a pretty hard question with pretty limited options. After considering less than a handful of possibilities… cook? fast food? one or two “Okay” sit down places? Then it hits me. The obvious answer is G.H. Bents; the local cookie factory that specializes in hand-crafted deli sandwiches.

Having been my go to choice for lunch ever since I was in high school, it’s not that surprising that it’s still around to save me when I’m home and famished. They have more than 26 individual specialty sandwiches, all named after notorious places in Milton, and all that will have you salivating as you read them off the adorable slate chalk boards behind the counter.

Although my usual go to sandwich is always the Academy (referring to the local prep school Milton Academy) including a combination of grilled chicken breast, melted American cheese, bacon, ranch dressing, honey mustard, lettuce and tomato on toasted sourdough) I decided today that I am officially trying every sandwich on the menu. Starting now until forever I will continue to order a different sandwich every time, as a pact to myself.

I already knocked two off my list….

Big Blue : Turkey | Havarti | Cranberry | Lettuce | Tomato | Multigrain

Granite : Chicken | Swiss | Bacon | Avocado | Lettuce | Tomato

First, the Big Blue (in reference to Milton’s Blue Hills mountains) it’s one of those awesome Thanksgiving inspired sandwiches featuring turkey and cranberries, and of course the necessary accouterments which in this case are havarti, lettuce and tomato. Although the sandwich could have done without the tomato, it was tasty. As was the Granite with chicken, avocado, swiss, bacon, lettuce and tomato.

Both were really good, as almost all of Bents sandwiches are. That’s why it’s so great. It’s hard to go wrong with so many good choices. If you ever find yourself in Milton, or are just looking for somewhere new to get lunch, try out G.H. Bents Co. located on Pleasant St. right off of route 28. You won’t be disappointed!

This entry was posted in Bakery, Cheese, Dining Out, Milton and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

