Current Infatuation: Sel de la Terre – Back Bay

I’m obsessed with Sel de la Terre Back Bay. I have been there way too many times in the past two weeks, and my bank account is proof that I have a problem. Jacki’s post about Curing a Case of the Monday’s sparked my curiosity about SDLT. I had a mediocre experience there once before (mostly having to do with an absent server), but after hearing about their weeknight specials and burger I wanted to give it another shot.

After three great visits to SDLT, I have completely changed my mind. They serve local, rustic French food in two very different dining environments. In the casual downstairs area you can grab a cocktail, glass of wine, small plates or quick dinner at the bar. Upstairs you can have a more upscale dining experience, perfect for a full dinner, date, semi-special occasion, etc. It’s expensive, but the food quality justifies the prices.

The bar menu has lots of items to share, the best being the Vermont Farmhouse cheese plate. This cheese plate consists of Baily Hazen Blue Cheese, my favorite Cabot Clothbound Cheddar, and Bijou creamy goat cheese. Plus the necessary accouterments: truffle honey, perfectly toasted crostini, mixed nuts and dried fruit. They also have a charcuterie, and “petits provencal” such as burrata, salmon pate and roasted eggplant with goat cheese for sharing.

SDLT’s burger is reason enough to go. It’s one of the best I’ve had in Boston. The beef is tender, the size is manageable and they have mini versions available for $2 on Mondays (between 5 and 7). Oh, and the pickles are homemade!

I didn’t like the chickpea frites with spicy aoli. I guess it’s a good option for vegetarians, but to me it tasted like a less-flavorful falafel dipped in mayonnaise. Meh.

SDLT wasn’t packed any of the three nights I went there, most surprisingly on mini burger Monday. When restaurants have good food deals, it’s only a matter of time before the word gets out and it gets too crowded. The mini burger Monday special is still under the radar. Also, I think Towne may have stolen part of the after work crowd from the Boylston bars and restaurants. I went to get drinks at Towne the other night, and it was overwhelmingly packed.

Other food specials at Sel De La Terre:

  • Wine Wednesdays – 4 courses with 4 wine pairings for $44
  • 50 Mile Sunday Suppers – 3 courses of local food for $35. All food is locally sourced from farms within a 50 mile radius of SDLT (including their own Apple Street Farm)

Good wine by the glass: 2008 Jean Bousquet Reserva Malbec

Sel de la Terre Back Bay is located at 774 Boylston St.

Sel de la Terre on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Back Bay, Boston, Cheese, Dining Out, French, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Current Infatuation: Sel de la Terre – Back Bay

  1. Megan says:

    The cheese plate looks delicious!! And I keep hearing good things about the burger there. I really need to give it a try.

  2. How much do you love the Cabot Clothbound Cheddar? It’s moovelous! (Just a little farmer humor) Thanks for the shout-out.

    The Cabot Farmer

Leave a Reply

