Delicious Discovery | Avgolemono Soup | Steve’s Greek

Steve’s Greek has been a Newbury Street staple for years. I work nearby and eat lunch there every so often. Usually I order a Greek salad, Tzatiki or some Spanakopita (which is amazing, btw). On my last visit to Steve’s, I made a delicious discovery.

…so you’re saying the small soups are free? ūüėČ

It was freezing and I was in the mood for soup. The waiter recommended I try theAvgolemono soup which I had never heard of, but it was “award winning,”¬†so I gave it a shot.¬†Avgolemono is a chicken and rice soup with lemon juice.

I’m still not sure of what award it actually won, but it no longer matters.¬†Steve’s Avgolemono is¬†excellent, there is really no other way to put it.¬†The soup is made with egg, which makes the texture smooth and silky. The lemon flavor is so strong, but not overbearing. It has the perfect broth /¬†chunkiness¬†ratio. I love it. I’ve been getting it for lunch so often recently because the large is only $4.50 and I’m full before I finish it!
Steve's Greek Cuisine on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Delicious Discovery, Dining Out, Greek and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Delicious Discovery | Avgolemono Soup | Steve’s Greek

  1. Sues says:

    I absolutely love Steve’s, but I’ve never tried this soup… It sounds fabulous! Definitely perfect for a rainy chilly Boston day… like they all have been lately!

  2. Joanne says:

    Lemon flavored anything makes me happy and the idea of a lemony chicken soup has me salivating!

  3. avgolemono is one of my favorite soups, too. be curious to see what you think of the bowls at greek corner and at bloc 11 (where it recently was a special, totally laden with orzo al dente).

Leave a Reply

