Slacker’s Breakfast | Centre Street Cafe | Jamaica Plain

When driving down Centre Street in JP on any given Saturday or Sunday afternoon one will find a long line outside Centre Street Cafe. For someone like me, who has zero patience for waiting when it comes to being hungry, this is a clear warning flag to turn around immediately. It’s also a clear indication that I will have to come back on some random weekday morning when everyone else who works a 9-5 is presumably occupied, and I can enjoy my late breakfast sans 40 minute wait.

This week I finally got around to doing just that, making my way to the tiny restaurant that’s been open in the heart of Jamaica Plain for more than 20 years now. Their goal is to serve the best in locally grown and organic fruits and vegetables, making it of course, vegetarian friendly. I know, here I go with the vegetarian thing again. They’ve got a mexican flare, which I obviously loved. Almost everything on the menu comes with a side of black beans, tomato salsa or guacamole.

I decided to order off the Slacker’s Breakfast menu. It seemed fitting seeing as it was 1 o’clock on a Thursday afternoon and I was in fact about to sit down for my first meal of the day.  I wanted something light, and immediately went for the California Sunrise; a mix of scrambled eggs and fresh farm veggies including carrots, broccoli, onions, peppers, and scallions. It was topped with vermont cheddar and served with a side of Iggy’s wheat bread.

California Sunrise

Dol went for the the Blue Plate Lunch special which was the black bean complete at the time. It came with a pot full of black beans, topped with cheddar cheese and tomato salsa, served with tortilla and salad on the side.

Blue Plate Special : Back Bean Complete

We decided to split a single pumpkin pancake. What? It was the special of the day. How could I resist?

Pumpkin Spice Pancake

Overall a great breakfast, one that leaves you feeling satisfied but not overly full. Everything was fresh and flavorful and I love quick low-key places* (note: weekends might not be as quick and low-key) They also serve lunch and dinner, which I’ll absolutely have to go back for!

This entry was posted in Boston, Brunch, Cheese, Dining Out, Healthy, Jamaica Plain, Mexican, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slacker’s Breakfast | Centre Street Cafe | Jamaica Plain

  1. Well if I’ve wanted to move to boston for awhile and now I want to even more! What a delicious looking breakfast. (I’m also of the persuasion that breakfast is just better after noon and when accompanied by lots of veggies.)

  2. Lara says:

    Hands down my favorite breakfast place! I love their weekend brunch – especially the delicious specials. Always a delicious eggs benny, omelet, biscuits, and pancakes. You can often find me in line at 8:50 waiting for them to open on the weekend!

  3. YUM- Im with you- I cannot pass up a pumpkin pancake….ever! Looks like a good spot- cant wait to check it out!

  4. Tom Dolan says:

    I definitely want to try that California sunrise! Plus a pancake of course! Will definitely check it out.

  5. allison says:

    CONGRATS ON THE BOSTON.COM FEATURE!!!!!!!!!! GOOD JORB

  6. Pingback: Happy New Year | 2010 Highlights | Just Add Cheese!

Leave a Reply

