Delicious Discovery | Whole Foods for Holiday Parties

If there’s one thing in the world that can make you want to throw a holiday party (besides the already obvious i.e. holiday cheer, seeing friends, swapping gifts, etc..) it’s Whole Foods Market! If after taking one step into their gourmet grocery stores, and upon seeing the hundreds of delicious finger foods on display at every corner, you don’t immediately think to yourself “I need all of this for the impromptu holiday party I’ve just been inspired to plan…” well then I fear a huge chunk of coal awaits you in the future. But seriously!

My calendar already seems to be filling up with holiday parties and events, out of sheer busyness I never even considered hosting my own, until I was intercepted by Whole Foods this past week when Meesh and I attended a holiday event they hosted for food bloggers. Not at the one we usually frequent, which is on Westland Ave. and considerably small, the event was at the River St. location in Cambridge. It was HUGE in comparison!

Inside we found our way to a back room, filled with tables topped with all sorts of delicious noms. As we entered I realized each had a different offering, from hot appetizers to wine, and the one nearest to me was cheese! Clearly it was fate, so we headed there first.

Within three seconds it became obvious to me….. I had to have a holiday party. At the first table alone I discovered 6 different things one can make with a cheese log. A cheese log! And they’re all equally unbelievable.

First we had a few logs of goat cheese which were rolled in crushed peanuts and marcona almonds, then drizzled with honey for a bit of sweetness. MmmMmm.

Then there were the cheese disks (my favorite!) dipped in olive oil and covered in panko bread crumbs. Eight minutes in the oven and voila! They’re a serious crowd pleaser, and they taste amazing on crackers or on top of salad.

Then we had a few different dips, flavored with olives, roasted red peppers, sun dried tomatoes and Peppadew peppers.

*For more quick recipe’s on how to spruce up your typical cheese log check out the Whole Foods website which has TONS of quick and easy recipe’s for holiday snacks.

And of course, the homemade pita chips which were UNREAL. I could have eaten the whole bowl by myself… but that would have been socially unacceptable, so I decided to beeline it to the beverage table. Where I proceeded to try some of the best $3 wine I’ve ever had. When the bartender told me it was Three Wishes, which sells for $3 a bottle, I was shocked. It was like the day I discovered “Two buck Chuck” at Trader Joes. Ridiculousness. I’ll take a case!

Next we headed over to the hot appetizers, which included an array of snacks from chicken satay to swedish meatballs, stuffed mushrooms and beef skewers.

I loved the arancini, which they happened to have a few different varieties of. My favorite was the chicken and spinach (followed by the prosciutto and pea!) Everything was well prepared and really good, and here’s the best part: Whole Foods is now offering Party Packs! For every dozen of ANYTHING that you buy, the price goes down. example, buy one dozen meatballs for $10 OR buy one dozen meatballs and one dozen arancini for $18. The prices continue to drop the more platters you purchase. They even include bakers dozens! Hello dessert…..

Like I said, the best excuse to have a party; Whole Foods pretty much has all the bases covered. Even if you’re attending a party and don’t have anything to bring, run in and grab some great wine or a hefty cheese platter for under $10!

I can’t thank Whole Foods enough for inviting us to such a great event! Giving us just another reason to ❤ you.

This entry was posted in Bakery, Boston, Cambridge, Cheese, Delicious Discovery, Dessert, Dining In, Events, Healthy, Quick / Easy, Recipes, Take Out / Delivery, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Delicious Discovery | Whole Foods for Holiday Parties

  1. Amanda L. says:

    I’m still dreaming and drooling over that cheese table. Om nom.

  2. Megan says:

    Nice running into you there! Loved that cheese table!

  3. Daisy says:

    this was such a fun event! I’m in heaven everytime I see that cheese table. good to see you girls. 🙂

  4. Joanne says:

    Whenever I go into Whole Foods, I want to eat everything in there. It’s addictive. Sounds like such an awesome event!

  5. Ameena says:

    I love Whole Foods and can’t think of anything better than a party at Whole Foods! Everything looks divine!

Leave a Reply

