Mystery Meet | Mumbai Chopstix

Tuesday was my second Mystery Meet, a foodie meet-up (aka 4 course dinner party) which takes place on the 2nd Tuesday of every month. You buy a ticket online without knowing the location, then it is announced 24 hours before the meetup. Each time there are about 40 people, a random combination of foodies and food bloggers from Boston and surrounding areas that get together to talk about our favorite thing, FOOD! Some clues are given about the location in advance:

  • Where East meets East
  • This restaurant opened its doors earlier this year
  • This restaurant recently got a new chef

The clues did nothing for me, I had no idea where we were meeting. Amanda from Kitchen Misfit tweeted that she knew the location right away, and she guessed right – Mumbai Chopstix. It made perfect sense, East meets East: Chinese and Indian fusion cuisine (if you couldn’t tell from the name).

I was thrilled about the physical location of the restaurant, because I conveniently work on the same block, but I’ll admit I was semi-disappointed about the restaurant choice. Since it opened, I have heard nothing but bad reviews about Mumbai Chopstix. Plus the Tavolo / Ashmont Grill Mystery Meet last month is a tough act to follow regardless. I remained optimistic though because a new chef could make all the difference.

The interior of Mumbai Chopstix is really nice. There are buddah’s everywhere, a dim red lighting, and a guy playing the sitar the whole time, an Indian stringed instrument that sounded really great and set ‘East meets East’ mood.

(forgive the quality of the photos – the red light made it hard to focus!!)

The first course was supposed to be similar to Indian street food. it was a mix of vegetables, potatoes, chickpeas and crispy noodles with a yogurt sauce. This was interesting… I’ve never had anything like it before. It was like a cold salad with a salty (soy sauce like), yogurty sauce. I would definitely get this again if I came back.

Then it started to get a little confusing. The menu told us we had a choice between two different soups and we ended up with one. Then the waiters took our order for the third course without asking about the second. The whole process was really unclear, which was so different from the last Mystery Meet where the service was flawless.

The hot and sour soup was pretty good. The great part about the soup was the broth, I could definitely taste both Chinese and Indian ingredients. They worked well together. What I didn’t like about the soup was the cup was only half full (as pictured above) and I would have liked a little more substance (veggies, chicken, anything).

For the third course we had a choice between chicken and cauliflower (which was also confusing because that was not listed on the menu either). I chose the cauliflower and I’m so happy I did. It was the perfect texture, with a crispy outside and flavorful sauce. I tried the chicken and didn’t like it nearly as much it was dry and unsatisfying.
For the the main course I had the crispy fried tilapia. This was a standout, I loved it. The sauce was mildly spicy and very flavorful as well. The fish was cooked perfectly with a crispy shell. The tilapia was my favorite by a landslide.
The dessert was chocolate mousse with a date pancake on top. When I saw the words “date pancake” on the menu, I was pumped. I’ve never seen anything like that before. It was a huge tease though because there was only 2 small strips of date pancake that left me wanting more. I really liked the chocolate mousse however.
Mumbai Chopstix was way better than I thought it would be. Most dishes were great, but there were some details that could definitely be improved. The flavors and the sauces were there, but more attention needs to be paid to the finished product. The fusion is really interesting and Chinese and Indian flavors work really well together. I would go back to give some other items on the menu a try, just because they are so unique. The concept is great, but Mumbai Chopstix is still a little rough around the edges. I have faith they will get it together though!

]Mumbai Chopstix on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Back Bay, Boston, Dining Out, Events, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mystery Meet | Mumbai Chopstix

  1. Totally agree about the service! Hopefully they will get their act together soon!

    -Amanda

  2. Megan says:

    I’ve only heard bad reviews so far too. I’m glad you enjoyed some aspects of the dinner though.

  3. ChangChaang says:

    im hungry

  4. Seth Resler says:

    Thanks for coming out! I’m glad you made it!

  5. Pingback: Mystery Meet #6: Mumbai Chopstix in Back Bay : Mystery Meet

Leave a Reply

