Taco Taco Dip Dip

The essential element of all parties. I don’t care what time of year, or what the occasion may be, its always a good time for a hot and melty Mexican taco dip. It doesn’t even have to be a party, just make a huge dip for yourself and kill it in one sitting. Probably not the skinniest way to start off the new year, but your taste buds will love it!

There are 3 million different ways to layer traditional Mexican fixin’s and come out with a great dip. But this one is especially close to my heart, I found the recipe card deep it in my mom’s recipe roladex. I’m not sure how far it dates back but judging by the yellowing corners I’m guessing between 10 and 20 years? (For some reason I can’t imagine people eating taco dip earlier than the 90’s.)

Taco Dip de Denise

Ingredients:

  • 1 28 oz. can refried beans
  • 3 avocados
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 package taco seasoning
  • sour cream
  • shredded cheddar (or fiesta cheese mix or monterrey jack)
  • scallions
  • 4 tomatoes
  • black olives
  • 1 serrano pepper

I know the amounts are a bit ambiguous, but just wing it – it’s taco dip!

1 – Preheat the oven to 400

2 – Chop veggies

3 – Mix together avocados, sour cream, lemon juice and taco seasoning. Set aside

4 – Layer. Start with the refried beans, then spread the avocado mixture on top.

5 – Layer the tomatoes.

6 – Add the olives (I used canned but fresh would have been ideal) and the chopped pepper.

7- ADD CHZ and scallions

8 – Bake until cheese is thoroughly melted and voilà!

9 – EAT by scooping out more dip than your chip can possibly handle.

10 – Repeat until dip is gone.

How do you like to make taco dip? Any special ingredients?

This entry was posted in Cheese, Dining In, Mexican, Quick / Easy, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taco Taco Dip Dip

  1. Melissa says:

    Yummmm this looks amazing right now. Happy New Year you two!

  2. spabettie says:

    yep – I *LOVE* taco dip, and this looks pretty much like mine!! 😀

    HAPPY NEW YEAR !

  3. Megan says:

    I make a similar dip but the guacamole and sour cream (mixed with taco seasoning) are two separate layers, and we just serve it cold. I love the melted cheese on top of yours! Any time I make my version, people lick the bowl clean. I imagine it’s the same with this one!

  4. Emily says:

    Me gusta! I never think to make taco dip… but that is about to change. Maybe tomorrow as a hangover cure… 🙂 Happy New Year!!

  5. Michelle says:

    A party in your mouth – fantastic!

  6. Lizzy says:

    OMG, I am starving right now and that looks fantabulous!! I want it right now!

Leave a Reply

