Ginger Marinated Steak Salad with Jicama

This may have been my most indulgent holiday season yet. Being a foodie around the holidays is dangerous. I think I may have consumed 5x my normal daily calorie intake during the entire month of December. Don’t get me wrong, it was worth every sugar cookie, cheese plate and extra bite of dessert, but it is time to start caring again.

Ginger marinated steak salad is what I came up with while perusing Whole Foods. No idea how it happened, I walked in, blacked out and came out with ingredients (jicama?) for a simple asian-style salad.

I was excited to julienne the jicama with this new slicing tool I got for Christmas that has different attachments. It wasn’t so easy but once I got the hang out it, it worked really well.

New cutting board too!!!!

I used two really simple recipes for the steak marinade and the ginger dressing that called for pretty much the exact same ingredients (soy sauce, honey, rice vinegar, ginger, etc.) Easy and less cleanup.

Ginger Marinated Steak Salad with Jicama

1. Start by making the steak marinade, I used this recipe from simply Recipes.

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp unseasoned rice vinegar
  • 5 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp peeled, grated fresh ginger
  • 1 teaspoon chile pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin

Simply mix these ingredients together to make the marinade. I let mine sit with the steak for about an hour and it turned out perfect – very tangy and refreshing.

2. Cook the steak. Cut into strips, and heat oil in a skillet on medium-high heat and cook the steak strips until medium rare (or however you like it).

3. Make the dressing, using this recipe from All Recipes.

Ingredients

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger root
  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 cup water

Put all ingredients and shake to mix.

Dressing | Crispy Noodles | Why did I think this was a good angle?

Cucs, bring drained of their moisture

4. Assemble the salad.

Ingredients:

  • Mixed greens
  • crispy noodles (pictured above)
  • 1/2 jicama, julienned
  • 2 cucumbers, halved, scooped of seeds, sliced diagonally (I like to this ahead of time and put some salt on them to drain the excess moisture).
  • Steak

I really liked the way this turned out! It was super easy, healthy and flavorful. Certainly not your average, boring salad. The steak, cucumbers, crispy noodles and jicama all lent a different texture to the final product which made it more interesting.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Boston, Dining In, Healthy, Quick / Easy, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ginger Marinated Steak Salad with Jicama

  1. Emily says:

    Ha, gotta love blacking out in Whole Foods! This salad looks really good. I definitely want to try this marinade in a stir fry!

  2. Daisy says:

    you blacked out in whole foods and came up with this salad?! amazing!

  3. Tom says:

    haha yea hmmm jicama who woulda thunk it

  4. Michelle says:

    I used similar ingredients (minus the honey) to make a marinade for baked tofu last night. Yum!

  5. Yum! I love jicama and never use it.

Leave a Reply

