Portuguese Kale and Chorizo Soup

This soup is easy, cheap and delicious. When my brother made a version of it back in September, I was instantly obsessed. He used diced butternut squash instead of potato, a lot of different vegetable combinations in this soup could work as long as you use one key ingredient: apple cider vinegar. It makes the flavor. I made sure to remember that when I recreated Portuguese Kale Soup earlier this week. Apple cider vinegar plus kale makes for a tasty flavor combination, then add in spicy chorizo flavor, and you’ve got one uniquely delightful pot of soup.

I made one batch, served three people, then took the leftovers to work four days in a row! I’m not sure of the exact cost, because I bought a ton of other stuff along with it, but it couldn’t have been more than $20. So 8 servings for less than $20…I’ll take it.

Portuguese Chorizo and Kale Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch kale, chopped
  • 1 pound chorizo, diced (the spicier the better, IMHO)
  • 2 quarts chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 3 big potatoes, diced
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 5 tablespoons EVOO
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 handfuls of parsley, chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Toss the chopped potatoes with about 3 tablespoons oil, 1 handful of parsley and salt and pepper. When the oven is preheated, arrange the potato mixture evenly on a baking sheet and roast potatoes until soft, about 20 minutes.

3. In the meantime, heat the oil in the bottom of a large soup pot. When hot, add the onions and cook for a couple minutes.

4. When onions begin to become transparent, add kale, apple cider vinegar, garlic, chorizo and salt and pepper. Cook until kale starts to wilt, about 5 minutes.

5. Add apple cider vinegar and broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Simmer for about 20 minutes – 40 minutes.

6. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve!

I want to say this is my new favorite soup, but that would be doing a terrible disservice to my long time favorite, minestrone. Might I add that this is my first time ever cooking kale! I need some more kale recipes, anyone have any good ones? I assume it can be substituted for spinach in most cases.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Boston, Dining In, Healthy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Portuguese Kale and Chorizo Soup

  1. Lucy says:

    Kale rules! You can sub it for lettuce as well to have a heartier salad. usually with a garlicky dressing.

    I love sauteed kale – easier than greens because it doesn’t take as long- not as bitter as chard and certainly not as long as chard to cook (I usually boil and then sautee it to get the bitter out)

    I can’t think of anything else! But tons of things.

    EATMOARKALE

  2. Michelle says:

    This looks so wonderful…especially on a cold day like today. I love making soups because it is usually very affordable, easy to make and freezes easily!

  3. Oohh I wanna make this soup soon! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  4. My Mom makes the BEST Portuguese kale soup. Next time you make it, try substituting the chorizo with the more traditional linguica. 10000x better IMO!

  5. Emily says:

    Portuguese cooking is so good. This soup looks hearty and filling. Definitely will add this to my to-dos!

  6. Daisy says:

    I recently cooked something with apple cider vinegar and now i can’t remember what it was! Oh well, soup looks awesome and I love that it yeilded 8 servings!!

  7. Joanne says:

    Give me anything with chorizo and I am one seriously happy girl. Put it in soup form, and I’m ecstatic! This sounds delicious.

  8. Dolores says:

    Interesting recipe but you didn’t say when to add the potatoes from the oven. I would assume along with the kale???

Leave a Reply

