Olé | Mexican Brunch | Sunday Funday in Somerville

I don’t know what it was but I spent all of last week craving Mexican and eggs. Mexican eggs if you will. I guess my obsession with breakfast and Mexican food fused into one, and I just had to have Mexican breakfast asap. After a failed attempt at finding a place to brunch on Saturday with my girlfriends, I was uber-excited when Meesh, Dol and I planned to check out Ole in Inman Square for breakfast on Sunday.

Once we arrived, we were immediately seated (at one o’clock on a Sunday with no reservation, things were going great already). I loved the brightly painted dining room and lively atmosphere. The decor was cute and authentic, and I was starting to get the feeling this was a big family breakfast spot, i.e. lots of adorable kids housing plates of pancakes.

Some people decided to start the meal with coffee and tea, I decided to have a cocktail. A pomegranate Margarita to be exact. It was delicious and definitely on the strong side, adding the perfect zing to my Sunday Funday.

While we were looking over the menu our server asked if we would like to start with some guacamole and salsa. Obviously we said yes, seeing as we always fall victim to the guacamole offer. It was awesome, and not too salty which I love. We devoured it immediately while we waited for the rest of the food to arrive.

The menu was a tricky one, it had a lot to offer. From breakfast burritos to egg enchiladas topped with salsa, and fluffy pancakes piled high with fresh fruit, decision making was tough. We finally settled on sharing…

Huevos Enchiladas with a side of Mexican rice, beans, sour cream and pico de gallo. Omigod these were amazing, and EXACTLY what I had been craving all week. Eggs wrapped inside a flour tortilla, smothered in cheese and topped with spicy salsa. And because I have to have something sweet every time I eat something salty we also shared the Brioche french toast stuffed with caramelized bananas and topped with fresh fruit.

Another delicious dish, they were rich and fluffy and overly indulgent, and the caramelized bananas were a nice addition to the traditional french toast.

We also tried the Huevos Rancheros which included two sunny side up eggs served on corn tortillas and topped with salsa ranchera, pinto beans and cotija cheese, with a side of home fries. The eggs were cooked over-medium, with the yoke just right. The mix of spices and flavors was perfect, and confirmed why I find all Mexican food so desirable.

Like I said, Saturday’s brunch mission failed miserably (after discovering that almost everywhere in Somerville only serves brunch on Sunday) but Sunday’s trip to Ole Mexican Grill more than made up for it. Fortunately there isn’t one of these closer to my house, I fear I’d never eat breakfast anywhere else again.

Olé Mexican Grill on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Brunch, Cambridge, Dining Out, Mexican, Somerville, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Olé | Mexican Brunch | Sunday Funday in Somerville

  1. Emily says:

    Thank you so much for reviewing Ole’s brunch! I’ve been a gazillion times for dinner (which sometimes ends up being drinks and guacamole at the bar – very nutritious) but never during the day. It looks great. Love that you started the day with a pomegranate margarita!

  2. Daisy says:

    thats a damn good looking brunch right there. I’m the same way craving savory and sweet – aka eggs and french toast at the same time.

  3. Michelle says:

    I’ve never been to Ole before but I’ve heard such great things about it! I also love the (Sunday) brunch at East Coast Grill!

  4. Megan says:

    Ah. I could have told you about the no brunch on Saturdays thing. I am always craving brunch on Saturday and nowhere around us serves it. (I live in Inman.) Glad you got back to try Ole on Sunday!

  5. Pingback: Dorado Taco Takeover | Boston Brunchers | Just Add Cheese!

  6. Pingback: Dorado Taco Takeover – Just Add Cheese | Boston Brunchers

Leave a Reply

