Lunch at Foundry on Elm

The snow day yesterday was fabulous! How did everyone celebrate?

Now for the nomz. Last Saturday in Somerville a group of us found ourselves in search of brunch. We had all met for the Somerville Winter Farmers Market, and we were totally done after about ten minutes, it was tiny! When we left, we decided to grab a bite to eat while we were still in Somerville. We struck out at Gargoyles on the Square and Highland Kitchen (remember: Saturday brunch does not happen in Somerville), then stumbled upon Foundry, who was conveniently open for lunch. I had never been there before and have heard great things, so I was excited to try it out. Foundry on Elm

The interior is a cross between Back Bay Social Club and Gaslight: French cafe meets comfortable old time American bar. The space is great, there is a lot of room and plenty of seating. I’m pretty sure we got there right when it opened, which meant that our table of 7 got seated immediately!

We started with some bloody marys while we looked over the menu. Their menu consists of upscale American fare with a French twist: raw bar, burgers, salads, sandwiches, etc. Actually, the menu has many of the same elements as Eastern Standard’s lunch menu.

We shared the Meze Plate for an appetizer: assorted Mediterranean appetizers, toasted pita, olives. This was pretty good, but nothing to rave about. My favorite part of the dish was the herb carrots, which unfortunately weren’t a great pairing with the pita chips.

Two of us ordered the burger with avocado and bacon added. The consensus was that the burger itself was great, but the toppings were unmanageable. Everything was so big that it just kept falling out the back, making it really tough to fully enjoy. We all devoured the fries, they were fantastic!

I got the eggplant sandwich with pesto, roast peppers, and provolone. This was really good, the eggplant was perfectly cook and covered in melted provolone. The downside: the bread was kind of of stale and all the red peppers were in a pile on one side! I ordered a side salad instead of fries, and immediately regretted it when I tasted the fries. The salad was fine, but the fries were awesome.

Here we have the Curried Chicken Salad Sandwich: avocado, local tomatoes, and it was a hit! It had a nice spice and consistency.

I’m not quite sold on this place yet. I have heard mostly glowing reviews since it opened and I think it might have been a tad overhyped. It’s missing an element that makes it stand out among the many similar restaurants in this city. That said, I have definitely not ruled it out! Maybe next time I’ll try it for dinner…

Foundry on Elm on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Dining Out, Somerville and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lunch at Foundry on Elm

  1. The chicken salad looks great. Great portions too!

  2. Emily says:

    Glad to know about this place. Your food looks really great but sounds like it wasn’t the perfect dining experience. I’ll still give it a try when I’m in that part of town!

  3. Lucy says:

    I think you guys arrived a little late to the market, there was so much more when we went early in the morning! Small, but it is still the winter! They had a ton of Fish, meat, eggs, and the like, but it sold out right when we got there. Also they had a lot of greens, but those went fast!

    You guys missed top chef Somerville in teele square at our house on Saturday! With all the ingredients from the farmers market and only a food processor and oven to prepare everything in.

  4. Megan says:

    I really hope to get over the the Somerville Farmers’ Market this weekend. I’m so happy we have a winter market around here.

    I had a good experience at Foundry… I wonder if dinner is better than lunch. The eggplant sandwich looks tasty!

  5. Katie says:

    Looks good! Have heard a lot about Foundry. Will have to check it out!

  6. Yum! I could dive right into the photo of the Mezze Platter. I love eating dishes like that for my main meal!

  7. Michelle says:

    Great photos! I still haven’t had a chance to dine at Foundry on Elm but I’d like to check it out soon!

  8. Daisy says:

    i enjoyed the interior shot. i think you nailed the description. nice comparison to other city spots. The pictures of the food had me thinking some of the same things as you described. whats up with the small mealy pile of roasted red peppers? that doesn’t look appealing in the slightest. at least they nailed the french fries.

Leave a Reply

