BFB Launch | The OG Mushroom Recipe

Last night Jacki and I headed to the BostonFoodBloggers.com launch event at The The Gallows in the South End. Over a hundred food bloggers got together to celebrate! Mayjah thank you Rachel and Christine from Urban Spoon (best swag bag ever BTW) for hosting such a fun event. SoCo Creamery was there with ice cream, Pretty Things provided the beer, Geoff and Drew’s were passing out cookies, and we all got mini versions of the Gallows famous poutine!!

Jacki and I sipped on Chupacabra martinis, which were made with tequila and elderflower (and a lot of other stuff I can’t remember). The martini was much better than the pickle juice cocktail I had the first time I ate at The Gallows.

The centerpieces were made of celery leeks and lemons, perfect for a foodie gathering.

And Daisy and I won some Boston Food Bloggers swag!

Great event, thanks to everyone!

And now… the OG Baked Mushrooms. The original gangster of vegetables and classic recipes, the mushroom lover’s mushroom recipe. Ok that might be a little much. I found it in The Essential New York Times Cookbook. The recipe stuck out to me because it’s originally from 1877, thus making it OG. And it’s simple, six ingredients, (mushrooms, parsley, unsalted butter, lemon, salt and pepper) are all you need for the perfect side dish: juicy, light mushroomy mushrooms.

Start by preheating the oven to 375. Place trimmed mushrooms (stem side up, one single layer) on a baking sheet.

Melt some butter and dab each mushroom with butter, and sprinkle some salt and pepper. Bake the mushrooms, occasionally taking out to add more butter. Bake until the edges are wilted, about 20 minutes. Toss them with a handful of parsley and the juice of a lemon, and add any remaining butter.

These mushrooms turned out perfect and had so much more flavor than I was expecting. I was actually sad when I finished eating them because I wanted more. This recipe is also great to add onto other recipes like a pasta/risotto or something. You could also swap out the mushrooms for any other vegetable or shrimp. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Boston, Dining In, Dining Out, Events, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BFB Launch | The OG Mushroom Recipe

  1. Michelle says:

    It was great to FINALLY meet you ladies on Monday night! I seriously think I squealed! These mushrooms look great. I’m having a real love affair lately with well-seasoned and simply-roasted veggies.

  2. Megan says:

    ooh those mushrooms look amazing!! Great photos and recap of the launch party! It was great meeting you 🙂

  3. Melissa says:

    Super cute photo of you and Daisy! Jealous of your swag, so sad I had to miss this event!

  4. Emily says:

    I’ve already said it on countless blogs today – but why was I out of town during this fantastic party? It looked like a blast ! Luckily, we’ve already met 🙂 (aka: burnt our tongues off while eating ridiculously spicy food!)

  5. Daisy says:

    Had so much fun with you girls! The mushrooms look tasty.

  6. finding those OG mushrooms distractingly desirous. keep my lusts in check, you. thanks for coming on monday and winning stuff and eating poutine and drinking beer. life of a boston food blogger is plenty rough, no? XO christine

  7. Joanne says:

    This sounds like such an awesome event! I wish I still lived in Boston!

    And those mushrooms…I could spoon those over pasta and be seriously happy.

  8. Katie says:

    It was great seeing you at the launch party! And I love mushrooms….looks great!

  9. Lizzy says:

    So fun hanging out and those mushrooms look delicious!

Leave a Reply

