Vegetarian Pappardelle Pasta with Pesto

The other night I ended up making a really easy nom-tastic dinner using a bunch of vegetables I’d had at home (plus a few I picked up in addition). It was nothing too crazy, just a simple pasta dish but I really enjoyed it. Not only was it delicious but it totally reminded me of when I used to live in Florence and practically lived of pasta and fresh produce. I’d always make up easy pasta dishes like this one. Enjoy!

  • Asparagus
  • Onions
  • Mushrooms
  • Sun-dried Tomatoes
  • Whole Garlic Cloves
  • Artichoke Hearts
  • Pappardelle Pasta
  • Pesto
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Shredded Mozzarella

In terms of portions, you can sort of decide how much of the veggies you want to use depending on how much you are making. I used about one to two cups of each ingredient, which ended up making enough of this dish to last the whole week. If you are only making a single serving, use less, and save the rest of the ingredients for another day.

1. First, start boiling some water! Next? Dice all the vegetables (except the artichoke hearts, you can cut those in half or fourths). Take the asparagus and onions and cook them in a pan with olive oil over medium heat for ten minutes.

2. Add the sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms to the already cooking onions and asparagus and let cook for 10 minutes. Be sure to continue stirring so the vegetables cook evenly. In a separate pan cook garlic cloves in olive oil over medium heat.

3. Add the artichoke hearts to the already cooking vegetables, and cook for another 5 to 7 minutes.

*By this point your water should be boiling and your pasta should be cooking. When it’s done, strain it and put it back in the original pot.

4. When the pasta is ready, I like to add some pesto for flavor. I usually use just a little, but feel free to go nuts.Then combine the roasted garlic and sauteed vegetables with the pasta and stir evenly.

Just add cheese, and dinner is served!

This entry was posted in Cheese, Dining In, Italian, Quick / Easy, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vegetarian Pappardelle Pasta with Pesto

  1. Yummm. I love easy pasta dishes like this. I want to live in Florence too!!

    See you Saturday at Burrito Bowl 🙂

  2. Yummy. I’d love this for lunch right now – great photos, too!

  3. Megan says:

    I love making pasta dishes like this, and I especially love the little lasagnette noodles!

  4. Alicia says:

    Yum. I love recipes like this! the pictures are gorgeous!

  5. This looks great! Love all the veggies!

  6. Michelle says:

    I love all of the great veggies in this dish!

  7. Pingback: Emerilware Nonstick Pasta Ladle | Emerilware Stainless Cookware

  8. Melissa says:

    Yum this is my kind of meal!

  9. Elisha says:

    Absolutely love the fresh look. I really liked this content. Thank you for this helpful page.

Leave a Reply

