Winter Salad | Fennel, Olive and Orange

All winter I’ve been making hot hearty dishes. 2011 thus far has consisted of soup, stew, pasta and potatoes. All the heavyness has started to wear one me, I really needed something light and fresh to balance things out. I came across a fennel and orange salad recipe on Martha Stewart that looked promising. Still not really sure how my browsing led me there, but the site has a lot of creative and easy recipes that utilize seasonal winter produce.

Garnishing fail. Seriously…what is that?

I’ve used fennel and orange together before, the sweetness and acidity of orange works really well with the black licorice flavor of the fennel. This was my first time preparing (and eating) raw fennel. I loved the crunchy celery-like texture, it’s nice to mix that with the juicy oranges. I would recommend cutting the fennel into even thinner strips than I did, the bigger peices were harder to eat and far less enjoyable than the smaller ones.

Fennel, Orange and Olive Salad (Adapted from Martha Stewart)

Ingredients:

  • 2 large fennel bulbs, sliced into thin strips
  • 3 oranges peeled and sliced into thin strips (I used Cara Cara Oranges) – To slice cut off the ends of each orange and use a knife to peel away the white pith and peel. When the peel is removed cut the orange in half, crosswise, then thinly slice!
  • 2 tablespoons chopped black olives
  • Coarsely ground salt and pepper
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • greens from the fennel for garnish

1 – In a large bowl wisk together the olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper.

2 – Toss ingredients together, making sure to include any juice left of on the cutting board from cutting the orange.

3 – Garnish (if you dare) and serve!

Easy, healthy, delicious, everything I want in a salad and more. The more part being the fact that the salad travels really well, it’s perfect to bring to work or save as leftovers. I especially liked how the vinegar soaked into the fennel overnight, the next day it tasted more complete and…fully integrated if you will. Martha Stewart’s recipe only uses fennel and orange, but I thought chopped black olives were a good addition that added a salty spike to the dish.

Enjoy the weekend and have fun cooking for the Superbowl!

This entry was posted in Dining In, Healthy, Quick / Easy, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winter Salad | Fennel, Olive and Orange

  1. Megan says:

    This is such a great winter salad! I have a fennel and orange salad on my site too… with a POM-orange dressing. I love the combination, and I love cara cara oranges!

  2. Michelle says:

    This salad looks fantastic! I’m with you and am ready for some warmer weather foods!

Leave a Reply

