Dorado Taco Takeover | Boston Brunchers

This past Sunday the Boston Brunchers met for a Mexican-style brunch at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas in Brookline. I was excited to check it out because I had never been, this was my first Boston Brunchers and Mexican brunch is always the best brunch (as evidenced here and here). Not joking about the takeover part, when Jacki and I arrived the tiny taco joint was fully occupied by 16 starving / (hungover) / camera-clad bloggers.

Dorado opened an hour early so we could have the place all to ourselves. The guys who worked at Dorado were genuinely happy to have us, literally smiling the whole time. Their mood was contagious and set positive vibes for a casual and fun brunch.

Breakfast Tacos with Chorizo

For brunch Dorado offers breakfast tacos and quesadillas with tons of options for fillings (chorizo, steak, chicken, mushrooms, peppers, etc.) that come with sides of black beans and rice, and huevos rancheros with the option of patatas bravas or black beans on the side. Jacki and I split an order of huevos rancheros with patatas bravas and chorizo breakfast tacos. The tacos were excllent! The chorizo has a nice kick. It was more mashed than I thought it would be, but that didn’t bother me at all. The eggs were cooked perfectly and had plenty of cheese and pico de gallo on the side. I enjoyed the beans and rice as well.

Huevos Rancheros with Patatas Bravas

Huevos were (by far) my favorite. No offense tacos, good huevos rancheros always come first in Meeshland. This was delightfully spicy, both the patatas and the eggs. I was not expecting it, but was pleasantly surprised. Shoutout to the queso fresco on top, well played Dorado. Let’s not forget about the runny eggs. RUNNY EGGS CLOSE UP TIME!

If I could describe my love of Mexican brunch in one picture, this would be it

What I’m about to say might cause you to change your weekend plans: the most expensive option on the brunch menu is $7.99, and thats about 2 dollars more expensive than everything else. In other words, this fiesta will run you less than ten dollars, even with coffee! BAM. Put that in your tortilla and roll it (and melt cheese on it).

Anyway, It was great meeting Athena, Katherine, Justin, KimmyKaty and Emily. It is always nice to see Amanda, Renee, Kathy, Megan and Nicole. Didn’t really get a chance to talk to Lara, Josh, or Brian who I hope to see again soon so we can meet fo’ real.

Renee, amazing job with this event and I had a great time and now adore Dorado. Dorado, thank you for hosting us, I now adore you. This brunch fully satisfied my FOMO (explained here) that has been haunting me ever since that ridiculously ridiculous brunch at Cafe Flueri I sadly missed and read way too much about.

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Brookline, Brunch, Coolidge Corner, Dining Out, Events, Mexican, Take Out / Delivery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Dorado Taco Takeover | Boston Brunchers

  1. Megan says:

    Sounds like a very tasty brunch! I was so surprised you all were able to fit in there!

  2. Pingback: Dorado Taco Takeover – Just Add Cheese | Boston Brunchers

  3. You are so welcome! It is always fun to see you cheesy ladies, and I look forward to the next time!

  4. Daisy says:

    great idea to split the dishes! props to the huervos. runny egg close up time is the best time.

  5. Yummmm! I love patatas bravas, and those look like they have a good amount of sauce. I am also wanting that charred jalapeno. I must get over to Dorado soon!

  6. Megan says:

    I’m getting hungry just looking at these pics!! You were at the other end of the table so we didn’t get to chat much, but I’m glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again soon 🙂

  7. I’ve never had tacos for brunch or even lunch. It looks fabulous. The Boston Brunchers really know what they’re doing!

  8. Michelle says:

    I may rival you in both your love for cheese and runny egg yolk. Delish! I’m sorry I missed this brunch but I had bachelorette party guests at my place that my morning.

  9. I was so bummed to have to cancel on this brunch. Those huevos rancheros and patatas bravas look ridiculously tasty!! Great photos and thank you for making me salivate at my desk 🙂

  10. I want more huevos rancheros STAT

  11. Mmmmmm-I LOVE Dorado! Im slightly in love with their Chorizo- BECAUSE its not what you expect- glad you felt similarly! 🙂 Great review!

  12. Katie says:

    I love Dorado…they are tops with me! Glad you all had fun!

  13. Pingback: It’s Been Real, Brookline | Last Brunch At Lineage | Just Add Cheese!

  14. Pingback: Noming my way through LA LA LAnd | Just Add Cheese!

Leave a Reply

