Orange Marinated Shrimp Tostadas

My current Latino kick has gone on much longer than originally anticipated. Sorry to all those Latino food haters out there (if you even exist – do you exist?), but I just can’t stop. Recently I’ve had some great food at Tico, Orinoco, Casa Romero and Lolita I wanted to create something Latino at home. Something easy and delish that involved oranges. Oranges? Yes. Orange is my favorite color and they’re in season. I also had a bag of frozen shrimp that was sadly forgotten during my Superbowl party. So…what do you get when you have oranges, an ongoing Latino food obsession and frozen shrimp? Orange marinated shrimp tostadas.

It was like an open faced shrimp taco meets Mexican pizza, piled high with all the necessary accouterments. I was inspired by the Mexican pizza at Taco Bell, which I used to get all the time in high school. I haven’t eaten one since but it was definitely my favorite thing to order at 3 in the morning circa 2002. After the Superbowl my fridge was filled with random nacho stuff like salsa, jalapeños and shredded cheddar, so I had most of the stuff I needed already. I just made up the recipe as I went along, using everything I had lying around.

I started by marinating the shrimp in a mixture of orange zest, orange juice, jalapeños, scallions, cilantro, and lime juice. I guess I got a little cilantro happy? Nothing wrong with that. I let the shrimp marinate in the fridge while I prepared the tostadas.

For the tostada I spread refried black beans on each round chip as a base.

Then topped the beans with spicy shredded cheddar cheese, and baked them in the oven until the cheese melted.

I also had some avocado lying around so I threw that on there as well.

Then added some salsa, sour cream, scallions and more cilantro. I used Tostidos salsa, but fresh salsa would have been money. Or maybe orange salsa? Hmm….

For the shrimp I started with sauteeing an onion that I also had lying around.

Then I added the shrimp and the marinade mixture. I added more fresh orange juice while the shrimp was cooking.

Then I just threw the shrimp on top of the prepared tostada! It came out great, and was definitely a hit. Even though this was a kitchen sink kind of recipe, I would definitely make it again, and perhaps adjust the proportions slightly (more shrimp, less toppings).

Orange Marinated Shrimp Tostadas by Meesh

  • 2 Oranges, juiced and zested
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1 lb raw shrimp, peeled and deveined (I used frozen but fresh is ideal)
  • 1 handful of cilantro, finely chopped
  • 2 jalapeños, seeded and finely chopped (1 if you don’t like too much heat)
  • 1/2 cup scallions, chopped
  • 1 14 oz. can of black refried beans
  • 12 tostada chips (I found these in the Latino section of the supermarket)
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (preferably sharp and spicy)
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • red onion, chopped (optional)
  • EVOO

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Mix orange zest, juice of one orange, juice of one lime, about half the chopped cilantro, jalapeños, and half of the scallions with the raw shrimp. Put mixture in the fridge while preparing the tostadas.
  3. Spread a thin layer of refried beans on each tostada and sprinkle cheese on top of refried beans.
  4. Bake cheese and beans until cheese in melted, about 5-10 miuntes.
  5. Top each tostada with avocado slices, and a dollop of salsa and sour cream.
  6. Heat a oil in pan, when hot add onions, then add shrimp mixture, squeezing in more orange juice as the shrimp cooks. Cook for about 5 minutes.
  7. Top the prepared tostada with the shrimp.

Enjoy!

(and don’t forget to enter our Food Should Taste Good Giveaway!)

This entry was posted in Dining In, Mexican, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Orange Marinated Shrimp Tostadas

  1. RIKI says:

    GREAT job on the photos meesh

  2. Dan says:

    they were wicked- ahsome

  3. Michelle says:

    I ate at Tico last night and had a great time! Your dish looks really awesome!

  4. Megan says:

    This looks really good. I just went to Tico last night, and I could still eat more tacos/tostadas!

  5. Megan says:

    How could Latino food haters possibly exist?? These tostadas look amazing. I’m drooling… 🙂

  6. Daisy says:

    latino is a great kick to be on. you surely have had some amazing meals out lately. perfect inspiration for these amazing shrimp tostadas!

  7. Dan says:

    That dish looks soo good that I thought this was a restaurant review

  8. This sounds like an AWESOME recipe!! And so pretty too. I kinda wanna bite my computer screen now haha

  9. Lizzy says:

    Yum!! Those look great. I love Mexican food and I love creating recipes at home too. Just tried out lolita- loved the atmosphere but I like Casa Romero better!

Leave a Reply

