Delicious Discovery | Liquid Gold at Lolita Cocina

Aside from writing Just Add Cheese, I am also a food and lifestyle contributor for City’s Best Boston. Recently, my editor asked me to try out the $100 margarita at Lolita Cocina and tell her what I thought. Lucky me. Needless to say, it was the best cocktail I have ever had in my life. And it photographed beautifully. Made with limited edition Patron tequila’s, which will run you upwards of $200 a bottle, and topped with 24-karat flakes of gold it truly is a glass of Liquid Gold. And although I’d personally prefer to put $100 towards something more meaningful (like a six month trip to South America) I can’t deny it’s awesomeness. Check it.

Lolita Cocina & Tequila Bar on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Back Bay, Boston, Cocktails, Delicious Discovery, Dining Out, Mexican and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Delicious Discovery | Liquid Gold at Lolita Cocina

  1. Daisy says:

    insanely jealous! I want to try it.

  2. My wife recently took me to a tequila bar that had this type, I passed ($60 a shot I think) but I tried so many other good ones. I love my wife (who drove us home of course.)

  3. Dan says:

    I kinda expected a $100 margarita to be more tequila focused. Seems like there is a lot of mixers in there. My other thought is how long did it take them to make it? I wouldn’t want to order a $100 drink and have it come to me in 2 minutes.

    • Meesh says:

      It didn’t take them long to make it at all – which takes away some credibility, I agree. There were a lot of mixers, and it was pretty fruity but the end result was still fantastic. More of a focus on the Tequila itself would have been more favorable for me too – I guess that’s why you order the shot itself!

      • Jacki Mo says:

        In all honesty I would have to disagree. Although they added fresh strawberries, lime and st. germain the mixers weren’t overwhelming at all and the majority of the drink itself was the mix of agave and blanco tequila. The fact that it was some of the smoothest sipping tequila ever made is what helped the drink go down so easy without tasting too strong. I think they were thoughtful in the creation of it, fresh, clean and balanced without being too over worked; a well-executed, overly-indulgent libation if you will.

  4. Michelle says:

    Tough job…but somebody has to do it! 🙂

  5. CAN I BE YOU, PRETTY PLEASE?!?!? Insanely jealous : )

  6. Pingback: Deal Grater » $20 to Spend on Food and Drink

Leave a Reply

