Sundays at Church of Boston

During my childhood there was a brief time where most Sunday mornings revolved around CCD class and singing psalms. While many of you know, it’s hard for me to sit still for more than 15 minutes at a time, the only reason I survived those years at Church was knowing the end of mass meant brunch was soon to follow. While the days of tasteless wafers are but a distant memory for me, brunching still remains a weekend ritual. Having discovered that there is one Church in particular that happens to serve delicious food, I decided it was time I experience them on the day the lord intended – Sunday.Starting off with their take on the classic Mimosa, the L’arc L’oranj made with champagne, blood orange and a bit of grapefruit. Like many of the cocktails at Church, this one has a story, “named for the lady who hear holy voices against the dying of light…. And remained veiled in the face of the enemy.” You’ll come to find I am more of a Mimosa drinker than a Bloody Mary fanatic, I have no idea why. I’ve tried acquiring the taste for tomato juice to no avail, so for me this cocktail was exactly what I wanted. I will admit this morning I was feeling particularly slow (my aunt even commented on how exhausted I looked) so the L’arc made for the perfect pick-me-up.  The next cocktail to arrive was the Tequila Sunrise. And can we just talk about how even their non-specialty cocktails still look gorgeous. Don’t you want five of these right now? I do.

One of my favorite things at Church of Boston are the beignets. They’ve always got these fresh-out-of-the-deep-fryer beignets. Sometimes there’s jelly inside, and you’ll usually find them switching up the flavors. At dinner they’re served as a dessert and at brunch they come out like a pre-meal app. Crunchy on the outside, fluffy on the inside, and dusted with a little bit of sugar. I’m not one for advocating religion but if they started serving these at the local St. Mary’s as the “body of christ” I may have to rethink my views on Catholicism.

As always, reading the brunch menu made my decision-making process quite difficult. My aunt and I agreed to share some stuff while my friend Darius immediately went for the Huevos Rancheros del Diablo.Served with grilled tortillas, black beans, homemade chorizo, roasted salsa and pepper jack cheese these are perfect for the spicy lover in your life. They even brought out some homemade hot sauce on the side. The explosion of flavor was incomparable, and I must say I loved that they were drenched in melted cheese.Lisa and I decided to go for the veggie omelet, which had a mix of mushrooms, asparagus, tomatoes, spinach, red peppers and cheddar cheese. Served with home fries and toast, it was pretty light and refreshing. Another flavorful dish, the mix of fresh veggies made me overly excited for all the fresh produce headed our way this summer. And because I couldn’t help over-indulging a bit, we also shared the “Toad in a Hole” French Toast.Aside from the French toast itself, which I’ll get to in a sec, can I just say that this bacon was cooked to perfection. Absolute perfection. Crispy, but still a bit chewy. Savory but not very greasy. Lately I’ve been having a real issue with bacon, either it’s cut too thick, it’s not cooked enough, its too fatty (ridiculous I know, considering bacon is fat, but you know what I mean) or it’s just merely unappetizing. Whatever the case, I was beyond relieved to find that the bacon at Church was cooked just the way I like it.

And on to the French toast. Glorious slices of thick cut brioche French toast; topped off with a poached egg and I was immediately in Heaven. I hate to keep using the term “cooked perfectly” but it was! The egg was just the right amount of runny, the French toast griddled to a golden-brown. Dense, but not too dense; the way French toast should be. Because I find it necessary to follow up anything salty with something sweet, it was the perfect ending to my Sunday Funday at Church.

Church on Urbanspoon

69 Kilmarnock St.
Boston, MA
617-236-7600

This entry was posted in American, Boston, Breakfast, Brunch, Cocktails, Dining Out, Fenway, Hidden Gem, Southern, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sundays at Church of Boston

  1. Meesh says:

    YUMMMMM i need this brunch in my life ASAP

  2. Daisy says:

    I’ve got to get here for brunch! I could totally drink 5 of those Tequila Sunrises with you! and not to sound like a beignet snob but nothing can / will compare to the ones I had at Cafe Du Monde. I’m ruined for life!!

  3. Megan says:

    The Tequila Sunrise is gorgeous! I’d probably go for the mimosa anyways though. Looks like you tried some fabulous dishes. And I hear ya on the bacon!

  4. Michelle says:

    I had a fabulous dinner there not too long ago…and I’m due for a visit for brunch!

  5. Megan says:

    Oh yes, I know exactly what you mean about bacon. I’m super picky about it, too! Can’t be too crispy, can’t be too chewy–I always love it when I find a place that does it just right. And on top of that French Toast? I’m drooling over here.

Leave a Reply

