Guest Post by Riki | Parson’s Table | Winchester, MA

Today we have a guest post from Just Add Cheese’s silent partner…Erika, aka RIKI. Enjoy! 

O HAI It’s me Riki. You can find me tagging along on many Meesh & Jacki adventures (I’m the short one trying to keep up as they POWER walk through the streets of Boston). Well I recently had a little adventure of my own that I wanted to share!

Parson's Table

If you hail from the burbs you know there isn’t much to eat outside of Boston. I’ve been on a gastro-hunt for months now and I finally landed on something special. Parson’s Table in Winchester, MA – the year old culinary gem in Winchester Center that replaced the former Catch Restaurant.

parsons table

Chris Parsons authors a short but thoughtful menu with quality ingredients & local sourcing. The space is cozy with a rustic/modern interior. We chose to sit at the bar overlooking the kitchen – grab these seats if you can – it was fun to watch Chef Parsons and his team work their magic. The care and focus they paid to each individual dish was impressive to say the least!

Start me off with a glass of wine! I was very happy to find a Gruner Veltliner on the list. This rising star is one of my go-to glasses. The Fred loimer “lois” 2009 gruner veltliner was perfect – crisp, clean and citrusy.

warm frisee salad

Warm Frisee Salad North Country Bacon, Maple Meadow Farm Egg, Sherry Vinaigrette

chorizo and mussels

Pemaquid Bay Mussels (Maine) Spanish Chorizo, Smoked Tomato, Sofrito, Lobster Broth

Here you have it in writing, at Parson’s Table I had the single-handed best salad of my life. One of those things you eat and still think about weeks later. Warm frisee topped with perfectly cooked fresh eggs and bite sized bacon! Melts my heart. The Mussels were good, but the impressive list of ingredients sounds better than it tastes.

hudson valley duck breast

Roasted hudson valley duck breast rhubarb chutney, mustard greens, spring dug parsnips, port jus

fettuccine with fava leaves and beef ragu

Hand-Cut Fettuccini Fava Leaves , Grass Fed Beef Ragu, House Made Ricotta

The special, roasted duck breast, was excellent. Prepared almost like a seared & sliced sirloin, my mom was raving about it. Hand-cut fettuccini was a win. Full of flavor and texture but light for a pasta dish. With this I paired – Pino noir Balletto russian river valley 2009 per our server’s recommendation.

profiteroles

Profiteroles, berries

For dessert we ordered the profiteroles, light and slightly crunchy with a delicious housemade vanilla ice cream. My mom was too stuffed for dessert but asked for “just berries” and they were happy to accommodate. The service was perfect. The place is small, all you have to do is turn your head to get noticed. Our server was around at exactly the right times, and always had a smile on his face <– very important!

I can’t wait to go back for my salad, and to try out some other tasty dishes!

Parsons Table on Urbanspoon

34 Church St
Winchester, MA 01890

This entry was posted in Dining Out, Farm To Table, Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest Post by Riki | Parson’s Table | Winchester, MA

  1. Michelle says:

    Since we bought a car, I’m definitely flagging more restaurants to try out of the city. I’ve heard so many great things about this place!

  2. Yay great post Riki! 🙂 chang chang proud

Leave a Reply

