Forum | Back Bay | Oh You Fancy Huh?

When Vox closed I nearly jumped for joy. What a waste of prime restaurant real estate. That place thought they could serve mediocre food and drinks and get by because they’re located next to Atlantic Fish and Abe & Louie’s. Well, they did for a pretty long time I guess, but we eventually proved them wrong by resisting the convenience and taking our money elsewhere. Yay Bostonians!

dipsAnyway, Forum couldn’t be more different than its lackluster former inhabitant. (Just look at the dips for the bread!) They really care about what they serve. The amount of detail that they put in the food and drinks blew me away. They even use molecular gastronomy techniques! It’s very fancy, though. Maybe a little too fancy for me, I mean the owner of the Red Sox was eating on the patio while I was there. But it was great to get drinks and a few appetizers on a Sunday afternoon.

To drink I tried the Suffolk County Smash (Eagle Rare 10 Year Old Bourbon, Blueberry Mint Puree, Fresh Lime, Shaken and Strained Over Crushed Ice) because I’ve been obsessed with bourbon cocktails lately and the blueberry was something I hadn’t seen before. It turns out blueberry and bourbon make a great combo. The only thing I didn’t like was the crushed ice.

suffolk county smash

Here we have 1/2 dozen oysters, topped with vinegar air and watermelon caviar. You can’t see them, but each oyster has little tiny balls of watermelon. To be honest I didn’t taste them at all, but the concept is cool.

forum oystersThen… Fish Tacos with Flour Tortilla, Chipotle Lime Aioli and Red Cabbage Pico. These almost look better than they taste. Very standard fish tacos, which is good. However, the aioli was a little too salty.

forum fish tacos

My favorite thing was Forum was the Raviolo with Bacon Ricotta, Farm Egg, Black Truffles. Oh, and the foam on top — Parmesan cheese AIR. Why do I love oversized raviolis? I could’ve eaten 4 of these, to myself, as an app.

ravioloand obviously the runny egg money shot…raviolo money shotyes plz.

They still have a few kinks to work out, as any new restaurant does, but it’s definitely worth a try. I would go back. Try it next time your boss, company or parents are taking you out, because it’s definitely not cheap.
Forum on Urbanspoon

755 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116

This entry was posted in American, Back Bay, Boston, Cocktails, Dining Out and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Forum | Back Bay | Oh You Fancy Huh?

  1. Daisy says:

    gorgeous shots of the food. I agree with your sentiments about Vox. I can’t wait to check this place out. the foam is fun!

  2. Michelle says:

    Like you, I was also thrilled when Vox finally closed down. I will have to remember to check out Forum the next time I’m in town!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I love the look of those dips too. The raviolo looks awesome.

  4. Sues says:

    How did I not know that Forum was open?!?! Looks pretty great… I want to BREATHE parmesan cheese air!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

