Guest Post | Avocado & Orange Panna Cotta A’la Phil

Now it’s no secret that I like to eat out. A lot. When it comes to making my own dinner, I often don’t always have the time I’d like to make something I’m actually excited about eating. This is why I surround msyelf with people who know how to cook; not only so I can reap all the benefits of trying their crazy concoctions but also in hopes that some of their creativity and cooking skills will ultimately rub off on me.

In a recent adventure out to hipster-ville Mission Hill my friend Phil and I decided to catch up over some cooking experiments. One of which you may have already read about, and a few others you’ll be hearing about right now, or in the near future (just wait for the peaches and prosciutto!)

Today we have Avocado Panna Cotta topped with an Orange Gelée A’la Phil. He made this earlier in the day before my arrival so that it had time to set before we scarfed it down for dessert. I’ve paired Avocado and Orange together before, most commonly in a salad, and the result is almost always a flavor explosion of awesomeness. I guess that’s why I wasn’t shocked when I felt totally elated after my first bite. Tangy, light, summery, smooth. Sigh. Love!You can make  this dessert too! and like all my fave recipes it aint even that hard. Plus the options for layering and plating are endless. Enjoy!

Ingredients:
4 g gelatin
1/2 cup milk
2 cups cream
4 tablespoons +2 teaspoons sugar divided
2 avocados
2 teaspoons lemon juice

for the Orange gelée topping:
2 cups orange juice
8 grams gelatin

Directions:
First Layer (Avocado Panna Cotta):
1) stir 4 grams gelatin into 2 tablespoons of milk, let sit
2) combine remaining milk, cream, and 4 tablespoons sugar in a sauce pan, bring to a a weak simmer
3) stir in the gelatin you let sit, remove from heat and stir until gelatin is completely dissolved (about 2 minutes)
4) puree the avocados with the lemon juice and remaining sugar
5) whisk into sauce pan, if you still have chunks in your avocado puree pass through a strainer, if not pour directly into serving cups, let chill for about 4 hours

Directions:
Top Layer (Orange gelée):
1) stir 8 grams gelatin into 1/2 cup orange juice
2) bring remaining orange juice to a boil, remove from heat, stir in gelatin
3) stir until gelatin is completely dissolved, let it reach room temperature, pour over panna cotta, and let chill for another 4 hours

This entry was posted in Dessert, Dining In, Guest Post, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest Post | Avocado & Orange Panna Cotta A’la Phil

  1. cath9689 says:

    this looks amazing, going to try to make it soon!

Leave a Reply

