S&S Deli | Saturday Brunch in Somerville

I don’t know how I haven’t given up on Saturday brunch yet. You’d think I would have learned my lesson by now; I don’t even have enough fingers and toes to count how many times my master plan to devour eggs on a Saturday afternoon has blown up in my face. Whether it’s my zombie nation neighborhood or the fact that the majority of the best brunches around think they should only be available on Sunday, Saturday never ceases to challenge me when it comes to my quest for breakfast. This time, it was Highland Kitchen who proved to be closed on Saturday around noon. I was feeling frustrated and famished and on the verge of what seemed to be a mini mid-day meltown when something glorious happened. Enter S&S Deli, serving brunch every Saturday & Sunday from 8am until 4pm.

Located in Inman Square, S&S is close to a hundred years old. A massive jewish deli/diner, it’s like the Zaftigs of Cambridge. When my friends and I first arrived the place was beyond packed but the hostess told us the wait would only be 5 minutes (YESS). As soon as I sat down I started to speed read through the menu. There were about 17 different things I considered ordering before finally picking a dish and making a few alterations.

For whatever reason I was really craving potato pancakes, maybe it’s because I was in a Jewish deli. No idea. Anyways, I went for them, served over asparagus and topped with two perfectly-cooked poached eggs.  With an English muffin and fresh fruit on the side, it was exactly what I wanted. Better than any homefries I’ve ever tried, I’m officially a full-fledged fan of potato pancakes for breakfast.

Both of my brunch dates decided to go for the pesto omelette, which turned out to be perfect as well (although I totally preferred my tater-cakes to their homefries). The pesto was whipped into the egg batter itself and the omelette came filled with a mix of Jarlsberg cheese, broccoli, mushrooms and onions. Served with a giant bagel and a side of fresh fruit, the offerings at S&S proved to be no joke.

Filing this one away in the “Thank God you exist because sometimes I want breakfast on days that aren’t Sunday” category, I conquered my quest for brekky once again!

S&S Deli on Urbanspoon

S&S Deli
1334 Cambridge St.
617-354-0777

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Brunch, Cambridge, Deli, Dining Out, Inman Square, Quick / Easy, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to S&S Deli | Saturday Brunch in Somerville

  1. Megan says:

    I live right down the street and used to go there way too often. They’ve got some good sweet and savory brunch options. The potato pancakes are yummy… sometimes a little too greasy for my tastes though. We often get bagels and cream cheese or deli meats and rolls to bring home and eat.

  2. Michelle says:

    I haven’t been to S&S in a LONG time!

  3. Sam says:

    ironic, because if it was a real jewish deli, it would no doubt be closed on saturday.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve walked by here dozens of times and considered getting one of their massive cake slices to go.

  5. The Zaftigs of Cambridge, yes! I love potato pancakes, but that pesto omelette sounds delish too.

  6. Wow! Those eggs do look perfect. I have never had eggs on potato pancakes, and clearly I need to get on it!

  7. I drive by this place all the time, and have still yet to go in. Great to know it’s delicious!

  8. SERIOUSLY. What is up with this city not having brunch on Saturday?! I am glad that you reminded me about S&S, since it’s basically a block from my place. I love getting a bagel and lox there!

  9. Pingback: Best Breakfast | Not the Family Business!

Leave a Reply

