Guest Post | Aunt Elaine’s Heavenly Chocolate Trifle

When my aunt Elaine asked me what I wanted for my birthday this year, the answer was obvious, I wanted her to make me one of her famous chocolate trifles. I use the word famous because for as long as I can remember she’s been bringing that chocolate trifle to each and every single family gathering we have. Whether it be birthday parties, Christmas parties, grad parties, Thanksgiving, Easter or Kwanza, the chocolate trifle always makes an appearance.

I remember one evening back in 2010 I went to pick my cousin up at his house to take him into Boston with me and I noticed he was holding what appeared to be a mini trifle. “What is that?” “What, the trifle?” “You’re mom made you a baby trifle?” Yeah she always does when I head back to school after a break.” “Are you kidding me?! Why didn’t you get one for me??” He just laughed, because only I would get crazy hyped up over trifle. Later that night we ended up stopping by one of my friend’s apartment on our way back into the city for Sunday night HBO. Yeah, we do that. We still had the trifle in tow, a half hour later, it was gone.  My friends went crazy for it, and they still remember the trifle (and my cousin for bringing it) till this day.

Back to my point — when my aunt asked me what I wanted for my birthday this year, I told her I wanted my own baby trifle, with recipe and photos if possible, so I could share her recipe with my fellow cheese-loving, dessert-craving, food-envying readers. She did me one better, she did all this AND bought me my very own gorgeous trifle bowl. I was surprised and delighted to see that the recipe isn’t that intricate. if you’re looking for a crowd pleasing dessert to bring to the many holiday parties I’m sure you’ll be attending this season then look no further because there is no holiday dessert more delectable and memorable than this one. I give you, the Heavenly Chocolate Trifle!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Devil’s Food Cake mix
  • 2 Packages instant chocolate pudding
  • 2 8oz containers of Cool Whip
  • 1 8oz package of heath English toffee bits

Directions:

  • Make both packages of chocolate pudding in separate bowls and refrigerate
  • Bake cake per package instructions (use 2 9-inch round cake pan

  • Using a trifle bowl, layer the ingredients in the following order:

First, crumble one cake into pieces ad place in the bottom of trifle bowl.

Second, pour one bowl of pudding on top of the cake  pieces.

Next, spread one container of Cool Whip evenly over the pudding.

Finally, sprinkle 1/2 the package of toffee bits over the Cool Whip layer.

Repeat! Topping off with the remaining toffee bits at the end.

Cover the trifle and refrigerate over night, leaving it there until it is ready to be served.

Enjoy! And just be prepared to become resident trifle maker of the family, because no gathering will ever be the same without it.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Dining In, Guest Post, Recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guest Post | Aunt Elaine’s Heavenly Chocolate Trifle

  1. Megan says:

    We always called this Death by Chocolate and had it at every family picnic. So good!

  2. I *just* bought a trifle dish for desserts of this very sort. I love all the layers – and the fact that Aunt Elaine uses a little help from the store!

  3. Megan says:

    Trifles are a staple dessert in our house around Christmas–this one looks amazing!

  4. Michelle says:

    My sorority house cook called this the Chocolate Orgasm and it was AMAZING!

  5. Cassie Sammons says:

    this is also phenomenal if you use lemon cake, lemon pudding and blueberries or raspberries….the summer version!

Leave a Reply

