Boys <3 All Star Sandwich Bar

When my roommate Josh had a bunch of his friends from college in town for the weekend, they decided to meet up at All Star Sandwich Bar to catch up and grab a few beers. Another friend of theirs recommended it and it turned out to be the perfect central meeting point. I had never been and obviously had FOMO of their Inman Square outing, so I decided to tag along on boys night out. all star sandwich bar beerI may or may not have struck gold. This spot is now permanently added to my restaurant recommendation roladex, filed under the categories: Boys Love This, Places Foodies and Non-Foodies Can Agree On, Cheap Date, Bomb Ass Sandwiches, Buckets of Beer, and FREE OREOS:

all star sandwich bar oreos

Don’t mind if I do. 

When the boys laid eyes on the menu they actually got giddy. I’ve never seen anything like it! These boys are not foodies, just regular guys that like burgers and steak and burritos and stuff. I love when people get excited about food, so I was thoroughly entertained by the conversion that ensued…

“Dude we are SO getting hush puppies”
“Wait, they have buckets? YES”
“I’m getting the pulled pork, but wanna split the cheese fries, maybe as an app or something?”
“Are you taking pictures of your beer?”

all star cheese fries

And if it doesn’t go without saying, yes I want to split cheese fries. Personally I would have ordered the Chili Cheese Fries, Hell Fries or Poutine, but I was clearly outnumbered. The fries turned out great, not too soggy and quite a large portion for $4.95.

all star sandwich bar hush puppies

As for the hush puppies, I thought they were pretty dry, but the boys liked them. I just liked seeing hush puppies on the menu, they don’t get enough love in this city!

pulled pork sandwichThis massive pulled pork sandwich was being offered as a special that night. It was  messy, overflowing, impossible to pick up and eat–everything one could ask for in a pulled pork sammy.

allstar_chickenMy favorite item of the night was the buttermilk fried chicken sandwich with cheddar cheese, which was also a special that night. The chicken was juicy, crispy, and overall pretty nomtastic.

So yea, hit up All Star Sandwich bar any time you’re trying to impress a boy, it’s guaranteed to make you look like a down ass bitch, or the best guy friend ever.

All Star Sandwich Bar on Urbanspoon

1245 Cambridge St
Cambridge, MA 02139

This entry was posted in American, Cambridge, Dining Out, Inman Square and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Boys <3 All Star Sandwich Bar

  1. Megan says:

    I live right down the street from it, and we get takeout from there way too often. I love how creative all their specials are. The onion rings are awesome if you’re looking for a different side when you go back.

  2. Sweet photos! This place is in my ‘hood and I love grabbing a casual dinner here (and snagging free Oreo’s while I’m at it). I second Megan’s onion ring reco; they’re incredible! Also – All Star is creating a pizza bar across the street. I can’t wait for it to open!

  3. Michelle says:

    LOVE the cheese fries at All-Star!

  4. Molly Galler says:

    I am a HUGE fan of All Star. I used to live just a few streets away. Now I cross the river (from Brighton) on the regular to get my fix. So glad you experienced the amazingness!

  5. Joe G says:

    “Just Add Cheese” girls: Down Ass Bitches. I like it. I like it alot. .com is taken, but .net is available.

Leave a Reply

