Amelia’s Trattoria | Traditional Italian in Kendall Square

Amelia’s was the most recent restaurant to get knocked of my Kendall Square “to do” list. The Italian Bistro is an oldie (opened up in 1995!) but such a goodie. Unlike anything else in the area, Amelia’s is all about traditional Italian food. Inspired by the flavors of southern and central Italy, the small eatery boasts a large selection of homemade pastas, polentas, pizzas and paninis. The restaurant itself is quite quaint and the staff is totally charming; they also didn’t completely hate me when I showed up running late for my reservation. Thanks guys!

Upon sitting down we were pleasantly greeted with some homemade focaccia and roasted red pepper hummus. I tried my hardest not to devour all the bread inside my basket, but when all was said in done I finished it off before practically licking the rest of this hummus off the plate. Homemade hummus trumps butter, always.

For an appetizer we ordered the Polenta and Meatballs. As soon as I saw an order of this go out to a table nearby I knew I had to have it. The daily specials included a long list of polenta variations, implying that this  was part of their forte, and the second I heard them say they were known for their meatballs there was no turning back. It was as good as I’d imagined. Topped in parmesan cheese, the meatballs themselves were soft to the touch and seasoned perfectly. I could have stopped there, completely satisfied by this dish alone, but naturally I didn’t, and we moved on to entrees.

Homemade Gnocchi tossed in brown butter sauce, sauteed with butternut squash, sage and parmesan cheese. Like tiny pillows of heaven, they were light, airy and sensational.

Lobster Ravioli, this dish was just ridiculous. The amount of lobster meat in this dish was beyond generous; the best lobster ravioli I’ve ever had, it completely blew me away. The sauce was creamy and rich, made from some of the freshest ingredients imaginable. Even after my stomach told me to stop, I kept eating. A complete over-indulgence on my part, and completely worth it.

Amelia's Trattoria on Urbanspoon
111 Harvard Ave
Cambridge, MA
617-868-7600

This entry was posted in Cambridge, Delicious Discovery, Dining Out, Hidden Gem, Italian, Kendall Square and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Amelia’s Trattoria | Traditional Italian in Kendall Square

  1. I’ve past this place probably a million times – why have i not gone in?! That polenta/meatball combo looks insane!

  2. Lucy says:

    http://www.ameliastrattoria.com/ – this is where you went right? Not the place in Teele Square. I won’t touch Amelia’s Kitchen with a 9 and a half foot pole. I think you linked to Amelia’s Kitchen instead – although owned by the same people?

    • Jacki Mo says:

      Lucy you’re right! I just updated the link. I thought the website looked strange in comparison to the feel I got from the restaurant haha. And they have extremely similar menus although a lot of the dishes were slightly different from what I saw when I went. Interesting. Does the one in Teele have a bad rep?

      • Lucy says:

        Yeah – No one has ever recommended it when I asked – Also someone had said that he ordered Chicken Piccata and it was raw, he sent it back and the chef came out and said that it was the way it was supposed to be cooked! That really turned me off, also having lived behind the back entrance to the restaurant and being able to see into the kitchen…it’s sketchy. Totally convinced it was a mob front because we see no one in there ever, even on Thursdays when someone plays the keyboard as entertainment.

      • Lucy says:

        p.s. I think the son owns and operates the Trattoria!

  3. Michelle says:

    The polenta and meatballs look heavenly. I’d LOVE some of that right now!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I’ve passed by Amelia’s dozens of times (usually when I’m coming back from Area Four). I’d never been enticed but this food looks fab. I LOVE the polenta on a cutting board, awesome presentation.

  5. Megan says:

    The gnocchi looks really good! I used to work right around the corner and have been there for a lunch a few times but I don’t think I’ve gone in years.

Leave a Reply

