Coppa | Sunday Brunch in the South End

If I’ve said it once, I’ll say it another 500 times, Ken Oringer pwns this city. Along with a few others of course, but when it comes to naming favorites, he’s up there (along with his partner Jamie Bissonette). One of the hardest questions I usually get asked is “What’s your favorite restaurant in Boston?” and while it’s borderline impossible to respond with just one, Toro and Coppa always seem to make their way into the conversation.

My mom, the lucky woman that she is, recently got to meet KO. Yes, before me. I know, I’m dying inside. When she told me about their encounter, and then preceeded to ask which restaurants he owned, I almost flipped out when she told me she’d never been to any. Scratch that, I did flip out. Then I made her take me out to brunch at Coppa just to show her what she’d been missing.

Pitchers of Blood Orange Mimosas? Don’t mind if I do!

Gratis bowl of fruit while we wait for our food. Oh how I adore fresh fruit.

The daily frittata was premade with green peppers and fava beans. We actually didn’t order this dish, it arrived on the bar by mistake, but we happily ate it up. I’m not personally drawn to frittatas, for whatever reason room-temp eggs don’t do it for me the way that hot, runny, fried ones do but how can you say no to parmesan cheese and garlic aioli? Oh that’s right, you can’t.

Luckily there were four of us at brunch, so I got to try all sorts of good stuff. Like the Uova con Funghi, scrambled farm eggs with mushrooms, served with a side of roasted garlic potatoes and sour dough toast. Simple and delectable.

If you ever show up to Coppa and don’t order at least one dish that comes with prosciutto, well then you’re doing it wrong. It’s sliced fresh right in front of you, maybe thats what it tastes so crazy good. I could eat pounds of it. Daily. I happily got my fix of prosciutto from two dishes on the menu; the Panino di Mattina (above), a pressed breakfast sandwich filled with proscuitto, fontina and egg, and then again from the Hang Over ‘Za (below) a monster of a pizza topped with bacon, sausage, prosciutto, potatoes, mozzarella, scallion and two over easy eggs.

I wasn’t even hungover on this particular Sunday, but how can one resist that plate full of awesome?

Coppa on Urbanspoon
253 Shawmut Ave.
Boston, MA
617-391-0902

This entry was posted in Boston, Brunch, Cheese, Cocktails, Dining Out, Italian, South End and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coppa | Sunday Brunch in the South End

  1. I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t tried Coppa OR Toro since moving to Boston. Now I see what I’m missing. That pizza looks amazing!

  2. Daisy says:

    I did not know Coppa did brunch! how wonderful.

  3. Michelle says:

    Ditto what Kristen said….I’ll have to add Coppa to my brunch list!

  4. I haven’t been back to Coppa in a while, didn’t even know they offered brunch! Everything looks great, especially that panini!

  5. Megan says:

    That pizza looks crazy-amazing! I’ve never been to Coppa for brunch, but now I must go!

Leave a Reply

