WTF Did I Just Eat? | Ras Malai at Mela

I’m sort of an amateur when it comes to eating Indian food, so I always bring a seasoned vet with me. This go around, my friend (who just so happens to be a conoisseur of Indian cuisine) and I decided to try out Mela in the South End. I had heard good things and neither of us had ever been. YAY, adventure! And it was. Overall, our experience led to some mixed reviews. Some dishes fared much better than others, but there was one dessert in particular that left us totally perplexed — the Ras Malai, a fresh home-made cheese patty cooked in a milk syrup with almonds and nuts. I’m not entirely sure what I was thinking but it sounded intriguing at the time, plus a new take on cheese? Why not?

Well, ummm, yeah, this is what arrived shortly after placing our dessert order. I’ll admit, I stared at it for about 60 seconds before picking up my spoon. I didn’t really know what to think. Interesting presentation? After a few bites there was a lot of forehead scratching and confused gazes. We started saying things like “I think I like it.” “Yeah, I mean I don’t hate it.” “I think I just ate a deconstructed raisin.” The whole thing was a bit of a mind f*ck to say the least. The flavors were kind of good, the texture was kind of weird, and I still can’t decide if I liked it or not. Has anyone else ever tried it? Do you love it? Hate it? Feel strangely captivated by it? I, I just don’t know.

Mela on Urbanspoon
578 Tremont St.
Boston, MA
617-859-4805

This entry was posted in Boston, Cheese, Dining Out, Indian, WTF and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WTF Did I Just Eat? | Ras Malai at Mela

  1. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    I do like Mela but I’ve never tried this before!

  2. Simer says:

    It used to be one of my favorite dishes growing up. It’s really difficult to get it right. Kebab Factory in Somerville, quite possibly the best Indian place in the area, offers a couple of delicious desserts as part of their weekend buffet.

Leave a Reply

