Rainy Day Asian Fix | Moksa & King Fung Garden

Whenever it rains I want Asian food. Whenever it’s Monday I start thinking about lunch around 10am. Therefore I want some dumplings right meow. I’m actually putting myself in agony writing this post because I’m starving and already debating which Chinatown spot to hit up for lunch today. I wrote about these two Asian restaurants on Chow Down Beantown recently and wanted to share them on Just Add Cheese as well.

Moksa opened a few weeks ago in Central. They serve both traditional and non-traditional Asian small plates like noodles, dumplings, pork buns, etc. It’s the perfect spot to hit up before a night out (at Naga most likely) or a casual weekday dinner. Here’s what I got on my first visit…

moksa_tuna

Tuna Poke, Avocado, Hearts of Palm

moksa_dumplings

Berkshire Pork Potsticker

moksa_bokchoy

Bok Choy Side Dish

moksa_baobun

Shao Bing: Pork Belly Sandwich

moksa_taco

Paneer, Avocado & Jalapeno Roti

We LOVED Moksa. I enjoyed every dish except the Roti, which I wish had more sauce or something to moisten it up. It’s a straight forward, fun and affordable experience.

Central Square
450 Massachusetts Avenue
Mid-Cambridge, MA 02139

Moksa on Urbanspoon

Now for a more traditional Chinese place that has been around forever, King Fung Garden in Chinatown. It’s hard to believe you’re in a working restaurant when you walk through the doors of what looks like a 1970’s diner, but the traditional Chinese dishes they serve are worth every pang of sketchiness. And it’s BYOB, so like, duh.

kingfung_chicken2

Amazing Chicken (and it is)

kingfung_scallion

Scallion Pancakes (the best I’ve had in Boston!!)

kingfung_dumplings

Pork Dumplings

kingfung_friedrice

House Fried Rice

Does anyone else get weird rainy day Asian cravings?

74 Kneeland St
Boston, MA 02111

King Fung Garden on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Boston, Cambridge, Central Square, Chinatown, Chinese, Dining Out and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rainy Day Asian Fix | Moksa & King Fung Garden

  1. lfitzb says:

    I’m going to have to stop you right there because the lunch I brought today sucks and now I can imagine soy sauce in my mouth and it’s delicious and driving me nuts. great. awesome.

  2. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    I get Asian cravings all the time….mostly Korean. 🙂

  3. Daisy says:

    actually, YES considering the fact that is rained all day yesterday and we ordered Chinese takeout last night. too funny. I will have to check out these spots!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    So cool that Moksa has paneer roti. I want to check it out.

  5. Whenever it’s raining I just want to stay home and wear yoga pants and a hoodie… And eat ice cream (weird, I know). Still haven’t been to Moksa but I’m glad to read good reviews!

  6. Rainy days definitely call fo Asian food (or anything greasy or cheesy for the matter). I could polish off a platter of those scallion pancakes right now!

  7. Those potstickers look awesome! Definitely want to try Moksa.

  8. All of that food at Moska looks and sounds amazing…especially those potstickers!

Leave a Reply

