Scampo Brunch

A few weeks ago when my Mom was in town, she suggested we try Scampo for brunch. I was thrown off at first because I didn’t even know they had brunch (which is both shocking and kind of sad because I live basically across the street). I still have no idea how she figured this out before me, but all it took was one look at the the menu online and the decision was made.

scampo brunch muffins

Italian-style brunch that starts with complimentary mini muffins, yesplz.

scampobrunch_arancione

We had to wait forever for my brother and his friend to join us, so we started doing serious work on the drink and app menu, starting with the simple but amazing Arancione with tequila, lime & blood orange.

scampo brunch mozz

When I think of Scampo, the first thing that comes to mind is mozz (lotz of mozz), so we also snacked on a Mozzeralla Salad with vine ripe tomatoes and basil while we waited.

scampo boston il gara

My next drink,  Il Gara with bourbon, ginger liquor, lemon & mint was good but definitely not a brunch appropriate drink. I don’t know what I was thinking, bourbon and brunch do not mix…should have stuck with the Arancione.

scampo brunch basil drink

The Pompelmo with tequila, grapefruit, agave, lime & basil on the other hand, was both brunch appropriate and awesome.

scampo brunch hash

For entrees we tried the Crisped Beef Hash with organic eggs and sundried tomato hollandaise. I thought this dish was OK. Everything tasted really good, but I thought the presentation was a little weak (at least compared to some of the other dishes) and they gave, like, four potatoes. They were amazing potatoes though.

scampo brunch pizza

The Classic Pizza also isn’t very brunch-ish, but I guess it was going on noon by the time we ate it so whatever. The best part about the pizza was the tomatoes, they were marinated in some sort of acidic mixture that was the perfect compliment to the cheese and crust, there was also a smoky element in there as well.

scampo brunch risotto

The best dish by far was the Bacon and Leek Risotto with soft cooked egg and baby pea tendrils. It was the epitome of an Italian brunch dish with so many flavors, colors and textures.

Scampo brunch is definitely worth a visit. It’s on the expensive side of the brunch spectrum, but the food holds to the same standards as lunch and dinner. Also the dining room is beautiful in the daytime, the look completely changes with the addition natural light.

Scampo on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Beacon Hill, Boston, Brunch, Dining Out, Italian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Scampo Brunch

  1. I am a big fan of the Scampo brunch!

  2. Daisy says:

    I have never even been to Scampo. what a shame.

  3. Megan says:

    Even though it wasn’t your favorite, I think I’d have to try that hash dish. Have never been for brunch and now I need to go!

  4. funandfearlessinbeantown says:

    I lived across the street from Scampo for many years and never knew they had brunch either!

  5. Your mom is so in the know! I was unaware about their brunch too. That risotto looks to die for.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    What a fancy brunch. Comped muffins=the best.

  7. That risotto looks amazing. I definitely love brunch dishes (and drinks) that are more on the lunch/dinner side…so I think I would like this!

Leave a Reply

