Sushi & Sake 101: Maki Making at Haru

Haru is one of those sushi spots that commonly falls under the radar for me. For whatever reason my typical sushi outings land me at reasonably-priced Symphony or splurging over at Ken Oringer’s Uni. Located inside the Pru, I’m sad to say I’ve only eaten at Haru a handful of times, but after my recent visit there I might have to reevaluate my priorities.

The other night Meesh and I attended a Sushi and Sake 101 class there, a new series the restaurant will be offering up once a month.  Once we arrived and were seated, we were learning all the basics of sake and it’s appropriate pairings thanks to Richard of The Passonate Foodie. And of course, we found ourselves sampling a few different kinds.

A few minutes later Haru’s Chef Masa-san had us making our own maki. Once presented with our seaweed paper, sticky rice and bowl of sushi-grade fish we were ready to roll. Literally.

I’ll admit, I didn’t take as many photos as I anticipated. This was mostly due to the fact that my hands were covered in sticky rice for the majority of the time, making multitasking quite a feat. I was however pleasantly surprised to find that Meesh and I were pretty decent when it came to making maki. Our sushi Messiah even confirmed our talent when he came by to dice up our rolls.

Here we’ve got some spicy tuna and cucumber (left) partnered with a tuna roll and spicy shrimp tempura guy on the right. The Nigiri was a little easier to put together, pictured below.

Overall the class lasted around 3 hours and was a total blast. It’s perfect for date night or group outings and would make for the perfect gift for a friend. We left with some new found skills and I’d be totally confident hosting a sushi-making night at home. The classes don’t appear to be listed on their site, but I’m sure you can call for additional details and to reserve a spot. If you’re looking for something new and fun to try, or just want to enjoy an interactive dining experience, I believe you’ve found it!

Haru on Urbanspoon
55 Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA
617-536-0770

This entry was posted in Back Bay, Boston, Dining Out, Events, Japanese, Seafood, Sushi and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sushi & Sake 101: Maki Making at Haru

  1. This sounds like it was such a fabulous night! Your photos are great as always, ladies!

Leave a Reply

