Grapefruit Balsamic Vinaigrette | The Filling Station at Chelsea Market, NYC

chelsea market

Has anyone been to Chelsea Market in NYC? It took me two years but I finally had a chance to check it out and it might be my new favorite place on earth. It’s basically a shopping mall filled with restaurants and specialty food stores. The concept is similar to Eataly but Chelsea Market is way more spread out, therefore much less overwhelming. Unless you’re hungry, in which case you might have a panic attack trying to decide what to eat.

One of the first stops we made in Chelsea Market was The Filling Station where you can try different flavors or olive oil, vinegar and salt. Um, yes. After narrowing it down to lemon olive oil, blueberry balsamic and orange balsamic, I ended up with this….

fillingstation_balsamic

GRAPEFRUIT BALSAMIC. So good. It’s a white balsamic base with bitter grapefruit flavor that is a perfect match for balsamic sweetness.

fillingstation_cyprusflake

And this really tasty finishing salt, Cyprus Flake.

fillingstation_vinaigrette2

When I got home I used the balsamic to make a vinaigrette. I had some basil, garlic, and lemon at home so I combined the grapefruit balsamic, olive oil, chopped basil and garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice, a tiny bit of mustard, salt and pepper. Let’s just say I’ve never been so happy to eat a salad in my life. Especially because I finished it off with some Cyprus Flakes.

fillingstation_vinaigrette1

I was planning on going back to Chelsea Market to do Christmas shopping, because I’m pretty sure everyone I know wants flavored balsamic for Christmas. BUT I just realized that you can order everything online, so now everyone is definitely getting flavored balsamic for christmas. You’re welcome.

This entry was posted in Delicious Discovery, Dining In, New York, NY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

