WTF Did I Just Eat? | Cider Doughnut Bread Pudding with Chicken Fat Whipped Cream | Staff Meal

Once I read the following words from Staff Meal‘s twitter feed I knew it was time to try them out: cider doughnut bread pudding with chicken fat whipped cream. I know, it’s a lot to handle. Let’s break it down piece by piece. Cider doughnuts: YUP. Bread pudding: YUUPP. Whipped cream: obviously. Chicken fat: hold the phone.

Does this gross me out? I don’t even know. I don’t think so. But is that just because it’s in whipped cream? I loved the fried chicken skin at West Bridge. So maybe I do like it? There was only one way to find out…

staffmeal_doughnut

Let’s start with the doughnut…it was a masterpiece. I actually didn’t think it was going to be a doughnut. Bread pudding is usually a square of gooey french toastyness. This was  cider doughnut french toastyness. Staff Meal used to make it the traditional way using day old cider doughnuts (recipe here), then decided they wanted the doughnut to be the bread pudding, rather than be part of the bread pudding. To give the doughnut the bread pudding texture, they infuse a custard glaze into the doughnut using a vacuum sealed bag. Nothing short of brilliant in my mind.

chicken fat whipped cream

As for the chicken fat whipped cream, my first question to them was “Why?” The answer: because Staff Meal didn’t want a vegetarian dessert on their menu. The point was to inject meat product into the dessert without making it too weird or just adding bacon, because anybody could just add bacon. But the taste, it was actually good! Dangerously good. Diabetes good. (Sorry.) It added a subtle hint of flavor that paired really well with the doughnut. When they used to make traditional cider bread pudding, they seared the edges of it with chicken fat, so this is also a way to keep the tradition alive.

Keep doing your thing, Staff Meal!

sidenote – I also got these awesome Chorizo tacos…

staffmeal_chorizo

This entry was posted in Boston, Dessert, Dining Out, Food Truck, WTF and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WTF Did I Just Eat? | Cider Doughnut Bread Pudding with Chicken Fat Whipped Cream | Staff Meal

  1. Megan says:

    I’m on sensory overload here… sounds interesting, gross, delicious, and wonderful all at once.

  2. Ashley says:

    Cider Doughnut looks so good! I had one at Connors Farm a couple weeks ago. They’re the best!

Leave a Reply

