Salsa, kinda like Christmas

It’s no surprise to anyone that The Pioneer Woman makes it rain in the kitch. I reference her recipes for most things I cook just to make sure we’re on the same page. As was the case when I made salsa a few months ago. She has a few recipes on her site, pico de gallo etc., but the Restaurant Style Salsa stood out to me at the time because it used canned tomatoes and tomatoes weren’t in season. Turns out, it’s pure crack. Now I make it once a week, and for my friends’ holiday parties, and every time I have someone visiting for the weekend. I never knew I cared for salsa so deeply but apparently I do.

It’s so easy to make! As long as you have a food processor, the entire process will take about 15 minutes. People will love you if you make it for them. They might cry. Make it if you need a last minute holiday entertaining idea, it will even match your christmas decorations!

salsa1

Start with one big can of whole peeled tomatoes, and 2 small cans of Ro-tel — tomatoes with green chiles. If you have a big food processor just throw it straight in there, I have to put it in a bowl and make two batches because my 9 cup processor overflowed.

blog pics141

Then add half a chopped onion, 1 clove of minced garlic, 1 chopped jalapeño, 1/4 teaspoon sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, juice of half a lime (or more to taste), 1/4 teaspoon cumin, and 1 handful cilantro. See? Looks like Christmas.

salsa5

The throw it in the food processor and pulse a couple times.

salsa7

Then eat it straight out the processor. You won’t be able to stop. And please don’t mind my chipping manicure. Kthx.

This entry was posted in Dining In, Quick / Easy, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

